We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Expedia.com$115
Priceline$108
Travelocity$115
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
102
79
22
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
79
22
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar downstairs mushy peas street parking piping hot would stay again stayed for one night tea and coffee making facilities full scottish breakfast lovely hotel pleasant stay biscuits short break breakfast was excellent first class draught abbey rear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2021

The Queen’s Head is an idea location in Kelso, next to the Abbey and in the centre of the town, making it a good base to explore the Borders from. We were allocated a large bedroom with a sofa, comfortable bed, large TV (which was tricky to work due to repeated messages flashing on screen), good Wifi and tea and coffee making facilities and complementary bottles of water and biscuits. The staff are very nice and welcoming, both on the phone and face to face. Breakfast had a wide range of offerings, both hot and cold, and was of excellent standard with excellent service. We ate in the bar downstairs one evening, the standard of the food was good, but the service was slow and not very attentive, but we were grateful despite this as they found us a table at short notice when every other restaurant in the area seemed to be fully booked. Attention to detail is something the Queen’s Head could work on, when we arrived a light bulb was missing from a bedside lamp (although the staff sorted this out the next day and gave us another lamp to keep us going overnight), they failed to replace our toiletries and the blinds in the room were broken. The bathroom was fine bar the shower which was not powerful and took a while to warm up. Our room was to the rear of the hotel, so there was a bit of noise from the courtyard below, but nothing that disturbed us. There is no parking at the hotel, but on street parking to the rear or a large, free car park a short walk away. The Queen’s Head is fine for a short break stay for a reasonable price.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TokyoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We had lunch here fairly regularly but today a first visit in some time because of COVID restrictions. They do a truly excellent pensioners lunch, utterly delicious and incredibly good value. Staff are always so friendly and helpful.
It is not “smart” or trendy but provides excellent service, great food at an amazingly low price.
Thank you so much. We look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Service
Thank anyeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 September 2021

Stayed here for a weekend, room was clean but very basic. Shower was very small, curtains let in so much light and room was above a courtyard which was very noisy. Staff were very rude and unpleasant all weekend. Seemed as if it was one rule for locals and other rule for people staying, no covid rules in place. Wouldn’t stay again or recommend

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jodier925
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a twin room,

Friendly welcome from a member of bar staff and check in was straight forward. Decent sized room with a large en-suite bathroom ideal for our needs.

Food in the bar was very good in the evening and the restaurant was busy (Covid compliant) all night.

Pleasant staff, good menu and decent choice of draught beers.

Breakfast was excellent with a decent choice. Yet again, the staff member was very welcoming and professional throughout,

I look forward to returning.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank wxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel to break up a long journey. Room was lovely had good facilities and everything you needed. We managed to get a reservation in the restaurant at last minute and food was delicious and good sized portions, staff very attentive. Full Scottish breakfast very good and again lovely staff would stay again.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mrsdeva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews