We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Longmynd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Longmynd
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Princes Risborough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We decided to re-visit this hotel for the 2nd time, even though our first trip was less than entirely satisfactory, because of its location and that we were only staying for 1 night. This time, we had a suite rather than a room and were impressed. A super-king sized 4 poster bed, separate sitting room and a lovely bathroom, all recently re-furbished. Beautifully clean and ample hanging/drawer space. As before, the staff were attentive without being intrusive, the location is superb and the food excellent.

Small things could still be improved (uplighters capture too much light from the new low energy bulbs, insufficient light at the dressing table, had to take a chair from the sitting room to the bedroom dressing table) but, overall, this was a good experience. We've had worse from much more expensive places.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room away from the side of the building where the kitche is situated. The air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welcomehost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    93
    51
    20
    20
See reviews for
26
77
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at the Longmynd in January, when occupancy rates were extremely low. Nevertheless we were well looked after. The food was excellent, We were upgraded to a suite, with a separate sitting room and wonderful view. The local area is a delight. The hotel even goes to the trouble of producing a 'daysheet' with details of the days weather and suggestions for activities.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I wanted a quiet relaxing break and got it. Lowly food, location was excellent. Short and long walks on the doorstep. Views from my room couldn't be beaten....looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bootswelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very friendly, very clean...lovely food and good service...Amazing location, super walks from the house. Will come back in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have stayed at the Longmynd before, so decided to take mother-in-law there for an autumn weekend. We werre a bit worried when we heard that the hotel was up for sale, the family who have owned it for a long time wanting to get out. But our welcome was warm, and we had been upgraded to a suite and m-i-l to a superior twin room. Whilst we didn't have the fabulous view over the valley, our room was quiet and very spacious! Only one criticism, and not one I have ever made of anywhere before, it was too hot! We had the windows open all the time.
The staff were lovely, the temporary manager having a good handle on a full hotel. The food was wonderful, and we felt very well looked after. I really hope this hotel stays as it is, with its somewhat faded glory, although they are working through the rooms updating, very comfortable, good value, and a great place to go and relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
18.4 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
13.4 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
24.9 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
20.4 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
32.9 km away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longmynd? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longmynd

Property: The Longmynd
Address: Cunnery Road, Church Stretton SY6 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,100 - ₹ 11,343
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longmynd 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longmynd dates from the early 1900s and originally attracted Edwardian visitors to the 'Little Switzerland' of Church Stretton. With a magnificent hill-top location, there are panoramic views of the surrounding hills from the dining room and our lounges. Today the Longmynd has been extensively modernised to suit the needs of visitors. We offer spacious bedrooms, fabulous food and spacious lounges to relax in. Our extensive gardens and woodland walk are both relaxing places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Longmynd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longmynd Hotel Church Stretton
Hotel Longmynd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing