We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Affcot Lodge(Church Stretton)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sayang House(Church Stretton)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria House(Church Stretton)
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bottle & Glass(Church Stretton)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bucks Head(Church Stretton)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Brookfields Guesthouse(Church Stretton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Hill Farm B&B(Church Stretton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
96
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmill valleylong myndperfect locationfirst classfantastic weekendself cateringon arrivaleating placesshropshire hillsplaces to visitwithin walking distancefriendly hostsbeautiful surroundingsnothing too much troublea real treatexcellent accommodationbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Arden House is beautiful - big, well-furnished, comfortable rooms with lots of windows. I loved waking to the birds in the morning. Breakfast was delicious, made-to-order each morning. We enjoyed our hosts, Ian and Julie, and our chef, Louisa. It was a lovely home to return to and very hard to leave at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: There are excellent photos of each of the rooms online. I don't think you can go wrong.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank polybecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecirp, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We are currently undergoing major building works to add on extra rooms and open again in March 2015 at which point we hope you will stay with us again.

Ian & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

This is one of the very best B&Bs. Like other reviewers I can't think of any more to say that hasn't already been said. We stayed here for the second time in September with friends who were visiting for the first time. All of us agreed that we would be back. The house has been superbly restored, the bedrooms are breath taking, the breakfasts are excellent and the hosts, Ian & Julie (and Louise), cannot do enough for you. And all that with the fabulous Shropshire countryside all around.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank keithandmarymontague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecirp, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Both

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Its very rewarding to know we are achieving standards in line with expectations.

We hope to see you all again next year.

Ian & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

What can I say that hasn’t already been said about lovely Arden House b/b in Church Stretton?

We, 3 generations, stayed there for a few nights at the beginning of this month and we all enjoyed it. The house is beautiful and we were encouraged to relax and make the most of it. Breakfast was a real treat with an excellent choice. Ian was always so helpful, obliging and friendly without invading our space. Julia, without any fuss, kindly sorted out our grandson’s wet hoodie after a wet walk. You only have to look at the photos to see how nice, stylish and comfortable the rooms are. Better in real life!

The area is beautiful with countryside perfect for both the serious and not-so-serious walker and the house is in a good position for a hill or valley walk. It is also close to the restaurants and pubs when you want to stroll out for an evening meal. Didn’t drive at all over the four days we were there – freedom in more ways than one.

We love Church Stretton and have stayed several times over the years but I have to say that this was one of our best visits. Thanks Ian and Julie, also Louise who cooked our lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecirp, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Brenda

Thank you for your comments and very nice to see three generations staying with us. You are such a lovely family and it was great to see everyone so close and happy. Hope to see you all again next year.

Ian & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were on a walking holiday based in Church Stretton and selected Arden House simply for its location -- out of the town centre but within walking distance. It was a fabulous decision. The location was perfect. It backs up to Carding Mill Valley, was quiet, except for birdsong, but an easy walk to Church Stretton proper. Our hosts were incredibly helpful, had impeccable advice about restaurants (we vote for Houseman's and ended up eating there most every night) and Ian even arranged reservations on a night when they were in short supply because they were having live music). Our rooms were gorgeous, tastefully done, and beyond clean. They have a wonderful cook, Louisa, and breakfasts are cooked to order with a terrific selection and delicious. I cannot imagine staying elsewhere were we to return to Shropshire.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecirp, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Toni

Thank you for your comments it is appreciated and very nice to know we helped with your break at which we so enjoyed your company.

Ian & Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a wonderful couple of days at Arden House. Beautiful room, great breakfast and the most attentive (but not intrusive) hosts. Everything was taken care of, from restaurant recommendations and booking to maps and route guides for walks. A truly blissful weekend

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecirp, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Louis. Wow what an incredible and outstanding review which makes everything we do so worthwhile.

It so much more pleasing given the amount of travelling you do and the experiences you have had at other establishments. To place us as top of your list is so rewarding.

Thank You from all at Arden House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews