We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Barn, piggies and pork!”
other travellers have booked this property
Master bedroom - superking bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom - superking bed
New pavilion and sanctuary area View of farm and fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Master bedroom - superking bed
New pavilion and sanctuary area
View of farm and fields
The Barn open plan sitting and dining area
The master bedroom and ensuite
The Barn hallway
The Barn kitchen
Barn Double Bedroom
British Lop pigs on site
Soay sheep on site
Fishing lake available to all guests
Wild ponies on the Long Mynd
Outbuildings around the farm
Visit Ironbridge
Visit Bridgnorth
Cycling from the cottages
Sam and Chris to welcome you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A42
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Barn, piggies and pork!”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barn for just 3 nights on a very wet November weekend. Middle Farm is a lovely place in a beautiful part of the world. Very remote so sat Nav and designated drivers are a must. The barn is clean, cosy and very well fitted out. Original beams, a very good bath and shower and a small but well equipped kitchen for self catering. The welcome Rock cakes and great filter coffee were a really nice touch.
It was lovely being able to wander around the farm and visit the happy free range animals. And to sample their gorgeous eggs and meat. I'm a committed veggie and was almost tempted to try the sausages... And needless to say we now have a freezer full of pork for Christmas! The owners were really friendly and helpful with plenty of suggestions as to what to do in the area. Highly recommend the bridge pub for amazing food and roaring log fire. Was hard to drag ourselves away but despite the rain there is a lot of nice walks in the area so we thought we better had! We'd love to come back in the summer (or in midwinter for the snow)
It's true that there is no mobile phone reception and virtually no wifi but this is a place to come to escape for a while. If these things matter to you and you really can't do without for a few days then maybe give Middle Farm a miss. But we would otherwise highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all during your stay and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the break away (despite the weather!). Hope to see you again one day. All the best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely....but...”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Daisy’s Place this summer for a week.

The location is lovely and very rural. The accommodation is set around two sides of a tarmacked farmyard. The owner’s home is in the centre. On one side, attached to the owner’s house, is Daisy’s Place and then Gooseyard. On the other is the owners car port (more of which later) and The Barn.

The conversion and furnishing has been carried out very skilfully, and the cottage was very comfortable. The owners should be congratulated on this. Daisy’s place (and Gooseyard) are compact rather than spacious, but ample for a holiday for two. The rental tariff is competitive. We did not have a lot of contact with the owners, but they were helpful when we did. When we asked about buying pork there was none available as it had all been taken by local restaurants. I could not get any mobile phone signal in the property (on EE).

My main issue with the property, as pointed out by another reviewer, is that it does not have Wifi. This was not what I expected, and I would probably have stayed elsewhere if I had known. The owner’s website says that ‘Wifi is available from the main house’. However when we arrived, the instruction folder in the property said;

‘The signal can be very weak so we recommend that a signal be attained firstly under the carport in the corner of the farm courtyard. The hub is in my study which is in that corner! Once gained the signal can often be taken back to the cottages.’

This procedure did not work. We could not get a signal in the property on a smartphone or a tablet. Our neighbour in Gooseyard could not get a signal on a laptop.

The statement on the website is accurate but very misleading. Wifi was available from the main house, but only if I went outside the cottage and stood in the corner of the farmyard by the owner’s house. Alternatively I could sit on a bench under their carport (with the rubbish bins and the owner’s detritus). The Wifi statement on the website should be qualified to ensure that no one is misled in future, or the signal boosted so it can be obtained in the cottages. Given all the hard work the owners have put into the properties, I am at a loss to understand why they have not already done this as it should not be difficult.

Apart from the Wifi issue I would have no hesitation in recommending the property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridlyn
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for us and our dog.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was one of the best cottage holidays we've enjoyed. We stayed in Gooseyard Cottage with our collie, Leo. The cottage impressed us immediately as being clean, well maintained and tasteful. We particularly liked the bedroom with its super king size bed and two velux windows which kept us cool at night with breezes drifting through.
It was ideal for Leo with a good sized garden at the rear, suitable for ball games. The garden is not enclosed on all sides but adjoins the farmyard. This was not a problem for us as Leo does not stray far from us, more adventurous dogs may need to be on a lead. The garden has fruit trees and bushes that you can help yourself from when in season. As you sit on your patio you can see sheep and pigs at the end of your garden, and chickens wander around the whole area. It's so lovely and relaxing.
Samantha and Duncan are very welcoming and friendly, exceptionally so.
We loved Middle Farm and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feel of the place
Liked least: It's hard to fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandJ_11
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, location and welcome”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in Daisy Cottage for a week. From the warm welcome from Sam when we arrived, after a long journey, to the very comfortable and well appointed cottage every aspect of our break exceeded our expectations. The situation of the cottage is ideal for visiting the many attractions in the nearby area and for planning interesting walks in this beautiful county. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn F
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Awesome October Stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our second visit to Middle Farm. This time we stayed in the Barn with extended Family. As soon as we arrived Sam and Duncan welcomed us like old friends. Accommodation is so comfortable and so tastefully decorated. Beautifully equipped. Everything you could possibly need. We had surprise guests dining with us. Sam helped us out with suggestions from her bountiful selection of pork. It was my husbands birthday. We had a marvellous barbecue in the covered patio area outside. We love this place. We went up to the lake to fish. The surrounding area is so beautiful and caters for everyone's holiday requirements. We have booked another 2 weeks in February, we miss it so much. Only one negative. Very hard to get mobile reception and Wifi, but who cares when you are so relaxed and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. So relaxing
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
What a lovely review and thank you so much for saying. We have so enjoyed your visits here and are thrilled that you love this spot so much. We'll look forward to seeing you soon and thank you again for taking the time to write such kind words. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing