We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent week at Birchwood”
other travellers have booked this property
view of house from harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of house from harbour
setting in Flowerdale Glen Beach and golf course
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
view of house from harbour
setting in Flowerdale Glen
Beach and golf course
sunset view from house
kitchen- new for 2015
dining kitchen
sea view en suite bedroom
en suite twin bedroom- upgraded 2015
lounge downstairs
The house looks across the small fishing harbour towards Skye
our favourite local beach
lounge opens onto balcony with sea views
double en suite with sea views
Avoid the crowds on one of many local beaches
downstairs snug with open fire
dining room with woodburner
large upstairs lounge opening onto deck
upstairs lounge
Nearby mountains
view from deck
lounge deck
view from the house over the local harbour
House is on the North West 500 route.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Garry B
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent week at Birchwood”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from running a landscape photography workshop based at Birchwood. The house was an ideal venue for a small-sized group and it is surrounded by the superb Highland landscapes of Loch Maree, Glen Torridon, and Gairloch round to Gruinard Bay. All are within easy reach. The newly installed heating system meant the house was always warm and there was plenty of hot water as well. Providing replacement wellies when one of the photographers discovered a leak in theirs was appreciated, as was washing a set of clothes when one slipped into a loch. Importantly, the house was good value for the week. It’s not the Torridon Hotel, but that’s not what I wanted and I shall be returning for more of the same next year.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusicProd...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gairloch's great but this house isnt”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with a group of friends and luxury accommodation it inst. The photographs speak for themselves. Don't waste your money and get somewhere else in beautiful Gairloch for the same price but better quality. The outside is nice, the inside is dated, bins broken, drawer handles falling off - the works...definitely not luxurious as advertised.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaE...
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Student Ville”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
6
people found this review helpful

So the good things:
The location is fantastic.
The views are to die for.
The house is large enough for groups & parks 5 cars plus the owners.
The dining room & downstairs living room are ok.

The bad points:
The owners live adjoining the kitchen & you can't make noise after 10pm.
It is not an adjoining rentable space because I tried to rent it for our group.
The main entrance is woeful - You walk in the back corridor entrance through a utility room. Lighting is poor & it is not an appealing space. More like a mugging could happen & you couldn't see their face.

The weird layout brings you into a well equipped kitchen but drawer handles are falling off, crockery is all chipped & you get the general feeling that the owners (although living very close to you) just don't care. It's very unloved & doesn't appear to have ever been lived in.
It's a business & the owners are milking the cash while you stay in poor accommodation.

Then you go upstairs.
The bedrooms are clean but dirty.
Dirty but clean.
Dirty carpet stains, exposed pipe work, dirty 80's taps, dirty showers, stained grout, etc I could go on & on. It is not the luxury accommodation as advertised. The twin rooms are the worst. It's like a cheap hostel with awful showers & 1 has a stained dirty shower curtain. The 2 doubles are ok but stinky drains & dirty bathrooms let them down.
The bedding is cheap, felt dirty & was not easy to sleep in.
The interior is like student dorms & nothing works properly. There is no excuse.
The upstairs lounge is massive, has a distasteful book collection, weird furniture but a great balcony which turns into a midgyfest for 23.5hrs a day. Bring your midge protection.
There is not a lot of outdoor space.
All original features upstairs have been ripped out & replaced with low budget John Lewis maybe 10yrs ago...it needs some attention to say the least.
I would recommend to students wanting the hostel experience. Not families or groups with higher standards.
We left early because it is not a place we want to spend time in.

Gairloch on the other hand is fabulous with tons of great local amenities & better places to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
We take our guests feedback very seriously. However we were very surprised by this feedback completely at odds with that of all our other guests over the last 3 years and our many repeat bookings. The rear entrance is just that and leads into a big utility, boot room ideal for all your outdoor kit- in fact this group used it for their bikes. I am at a loss regarding the comments on exposed pipework- there is none. A few drawer handles were loose- wear and tear over a busy summer period. This has now been rectified. We take time and care in cleaning the house for our next guests and have never had any complaints. It appears that this house, for one reason or another, just did not suit this group. Thanks to the group for leaving the house as clean and tidy as they found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
45Ross120
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birchwood House, Gairloch - an excellent choice”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location, quiet, overlooking the harbour and close to the Old Inn. The house was clean, spacious, comfortable, and with all the facilities required by a group including children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing in particular
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday place”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place to stay with kids - really nice house and lots of space. Great spot for getting out and doing things - lovely beach within walking distance and lots of good biking and walking.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing