We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely property”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet H
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely place could be better”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely week at Creag Hastin. The property was comfortable, especially the bed, the furnishings were of good quality as were the decorations and wall art. I found the kitchen to be very well equipped and the establishment was clean in most places but there was food debris under the microwave and its knob and some kitchen door handles were greasy/grimy. A good sign to a cottage is that you don’t have to wash any glasses, cutlery etc. but we had to before we used them.

The negatives however are as follow: -

It REALLY needs a payphone, there is absolutely no signal on mobile networks and the payphone at the harbour isn’t working. We had a lovely welcome card with a number to ring if we had any problems but had no way of doing so.

There was no sign of the radio/CD player.


The windows are very rusty and steamy and have staining on them so not using the full potential of the views. The doors are also very rusty as is the ‘balcony’.

On a similar note, the ‘garden’ is very neglected and over grown with cut down trees all over the place and a very large tree root doing a good impression of a sleeping policeman at the entrance to the property. It could be so nice if tidied up and would enhance the view.

There is absolutely NO instruction book/pack so I had to look up on the Internet how to use the oven. Also, we had no idea how long to put the water switch on for so had two VERY unsatisfactory cold baths.

Anyone seeing the piano on the pictures would be sadly disappointed, as it obviously has not been tuned for years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great bed and wifi
Liked least: storage heaters and knackered windows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlene_e...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely property”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had not been to the Gairloch area before so did not know wether we would like it so only booked Creag Hastin for a week. The cottage is very comfortable and very well equipt. The owners Mr & Mrs Gunn were very friendly and welcoming. It is within walking distance of the shops, cafe, Inn,golf course and beach. We are planning on returning to the cottage for a fortnight next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewdsho...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, fully equipped holiday home in perfect location. Ideal for dogs.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although not a "chocolate box" exterior this is a very comfortable and fully equipped house. Its location is ideal, within walking distance of the shops, cafe, hotels, harbour and adjacent to the golf course and bank and a stunning sandy beach,whilst the large garden retains the feeling of being in the country. The interior was spotlessly clean and had cosy furnishings, lots of books( I loved finding one of the family's Sunday school prize from 1955) and not the clinical Ikea interior of so may holiday houses. The soft furnishings have been tastefully updated since the photos were taken and the mattress on our bed excellent. There are great walks nearby for dogs and the wider area offers innumerable beautiful walks at all levels. On a rainy day the Gairloch museum is fascinating. Many thanks to Mrs Gunn for coming to the rescue when we forgot our towels! Great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Electricity meter
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
Ripon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is the second year we've stayed at Creag Hastin. The house itself is extremely comfortable and very well-equipped. What makes it an idyllic holiday home, however, is its location. Situated in the Charlestown area of Gairloch it is a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, the beautiful Flowerdale walk, the golf course, the harbour with its friendly shop and a number of boat trips, and the charming Old Inn where you can find very delicious food at a very reasonable price. Both my husband and I, and our four children enjoyed the most wonderful holiday here this year and we were all very sad to leave. Hopefully we'll be back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location.
Liked least: The midgies!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 68
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing