We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf base”

Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Alnmouth Golf Club overlooks the splendours of both Foxton and Alnmouth Bay on the Northumberland coastline in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty. It is widely regarded as one of the finest golf courses in the North East of England. Although the course has a coastal location it has parkland turf and a reputation for the fine quality of the greens and superb presentation. Recently chosen as one of the TOP 100 HIDDEN GEM golf courses in the UK by Golf Monthly magazine. We are a private members club with active Mens and Ladies sections, friendly clubhouse atmosphere and very strong junior section. Visitors are always given a warm Northumbrian welcome at Alnmouth where we have buggies for hire and first class practice facilities. A special feature of "Foxton", as we are generally known, is a 26-bed Dormy House within the clubhouse offering hotel accommodation, English Tourism 3 Star rating, to groups of visiting golfers in very comfortable twin or single rooms with en suite facilities. We offer a full range of stay and play golfbreaks for groups and couples. SKY SPORTS TV AVAILABLE IN THE CLUBHOUSE. RELAX AFTER A ROUND WATCHING LIVE SPORT AT FOXTON HALL DRIVING RANGE AND FIRST CLASS PRACTICE FACILITIES AVAILABLE
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Foxton Hall for 5 nights.
Accommodation is very clean and spacious in the rooms we stayed in.
Breakfast was excellent with good choices. Evening meals were excellent on the packages we had.
Bar was good with good choice of beers and wines etc.
Staff were all very helpful and efficient.

Golf course was excellent. Very well maintained and challenging.
A definite place to return to.

Thank steve272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thanks for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great golf"
in 8 reviews
"golf course"
in 16 reviews
"dormy house"
in 8 reviews
"cooked to perfection"
in 2 reviews
"golf break"
in 4 reviews
"golf club"
in 7 reviews
"overnight accommodation"
in 3 reviews
"member of staff"
in 2 reviews
"dining room"
in 2 reviews
"can't wait to return next year"
in 2 reviews
"clubhouse facilities"
in 2 reviews
"real test"
in 2 reviews
"great condition"
in 2 reviews
"cake"
in 2 reviews
"golfers"
in 11 reviews
"golfing"
in 5 reviews
"carvery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Played the course and stayed in the Dormy Rooms

65 quid for golf, bed and breakfast

Course is testing and in good nick despite the weather. Rooms are nice, bathrooms clean and food very good and well served by really friendly staff

A terrific experience and we will go again. Thanks to everyone who made our stay a pleasant one

Recommended

Thank dicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Excellent service, attention to detail and culinary wishes. Vegan and vegetarian wishes accommodated. Wheelchair access, friendliness and old-fashioned courtliness from the most excellent staff. We are not golfers, but were welcomed in most graciously.

Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and as you indicate although we are a Golf Club everyone is made welcome and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely time spent here with my wife and daughter. Rooms were excellent and food superb. A nice part of the country to spend some time away relaxing.

Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Pleased you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent as always.
3rd time i have stayed and love it.
Golf course a good challenge with some good and interesting holes . When the wind gets up it can be a real test.
Dormy house great value £80 dinner ,bed ,breakfast and 2 rounds of golf.
Food very good and staff always friendly.
Look forward to returning.

1  Thank Alleycat102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

I am pleased you enjoyed your return visit, it is good to see you returning we like to see our regular guests and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall also viewed

 

Been to Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing