We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cosy beautiful b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fauconberg Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fauconberg Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy beautiful b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for 1 night and loved our stay. Our dog was welcome which was great and for £10 couldn't be better. We had a lovely little front facing room, it was small but we liked this aspect as it felt so cosy and comfortable. It was clean and well presented in keeping with the building. A little shower and bathroom was fit for purpose. There wasn't much around the area to do but a nice walk in the countryside was plenty for us. The bar was lovely with a log fire which kept you nice and toasty. Wine was a tad pricey compared to what I'm used to £8 for a glass and pint of lager. Not a problem as the peroni was well priced.

We ate in the restaurant and we had hoped to have the burgers but due to a large party and a shooters congregation it wasn't on the menu. It wasnt a problem though. Most meals were around 15.00 with fish and chips 10.00 and it was the size of a whale! The steak was 18.00 and a huge portion. We heard someone moan about her portion of chips but it looked fine to us.the food was delicious.

Breakfast was stunning also. Beautiful fresh meat and fresh baked bread. Couldn't ask or more.

We were made very welcome here and I'm sure if we needed anything they would have helped. X

Thanks again x

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleen783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    47
    22
    7
    14
See reviews for
31
145
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

thank you simon helen and family, for a fantastic stay . this place brings back such happy memories cant wait to see you all again very soon x sue and keith burnley lancashire

Room Tip: you dont need a tip all the rooms are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredacottercotterill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Thank you Simon and Helen for making our stay in Coxwold very near close to perfect. I would recommend this beautiful country pub to anyone. Magical!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anastasialove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We called in late in the afternoon looking for a room for the night and could not have chosen better.
The room was huge with a confortable bed. The bar with log burner snug and cosy. We had a great dinner served in the bar rather than the restaurant - our choice. The son-in-law of the owner was great fun and worked hard. Breakfast was excellent - try the home cooked ham with egg, will keep you going for the day! All the other residents spoke highly of what might be considered a "quirky" pub - A great place for a short break and close to the moors

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColchesterDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at the Fauconberg for 2 nights last week to celebrate our Wedding Anniv. What a great break. Simon, Helen and all the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the real ale was great together with the log burner and great crack in the bar with the locals sampling various new desert ideas for the new 'Burger and Batter' evenings, Battered Apple with ice cream mmmm! Wine was of a decent standard with good choice and not outrageously priced. The food was fabulous (ate in the nicely appointed dining room both nights but food could be taken in either bar) Scallops, best I've had for a long time, Slow Roasted Duckling with a herb and salt crust yum yum! A fantastic selection of local cheeses and although we didn't have a desert (cheese instead) they looked fab. Bfast was huge, all the usual juice,cereals,yoghurts, toast,honey, marmalades & jams and we had honey roast ham(freshly carved of course) with scrambled egg on day 1 with a selection from the Full Yorkshire on day 2 (we didn't dare tackle the full version) We mentioned to Simon when we departed that we were surprised not to see fish on the bfast menu. His reply was that they sometimes do but if we had mentioned it on day 1 they would have got kippers or smoked haddock for us for day 2, you can't fault their desire to please. Our room was one of their superior ones overlooking fields and gardens at the rear. Large, clean and well decorated with 2 chairs and magazine table, king size very comfy bed and important for my wife a large bath with big fluffy towels plus quality toiletries. But best of all was the friendly 'nothing is too much trouble' service from ALL the staff. Be warned Simon, WE WILL BE BACK, Dave and Chris S

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
10.6 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
10.9 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
10.9 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
15.3 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
10.9 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauconberg Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauconberg Arms

Property: Fauconberg Arms
Address: Thirsk Bank, Coxwold YO61 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,011 - ₹ 9,600
Hotel Class:4 star — Fauconberg Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilson Family warmly welcomes you to The Fauconberg ArmsFamily pets, cosy country inn log fires, evenings of music, relaxing location, beautifully appointed guest rooms, local, fresh good quality food with a contemporary Fauconberg twist and a deep sense of historical roots. These are some of the ingredients that come together to create the enjoyable guest house experience that is The Fauconberg Arms in North Yorkshire.Our beautiful 17th century country inn is full of charm, character and history, and offers quality en-suite guest accommodation, first-rate food and entertainment...all set in the picturesque village of Coxwold amidst the rolling green countryside of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors and National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fauconberg Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauconberg Arms Hotel Coxwold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing