We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
418
160
64
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
160
64
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room tennyson suite christmas party night porter from start to finish jacuzzi bath afternoon tea great night for sunday lunch main course waiting staff lovely hotel an evening meal beef high standard special occasion one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We stayed here for a night in mid September whilst attending a wedding in the very nice Tennyson Suite Our room was an Executive one I believe (room 212) with a very challenging rate of c £130 - pricey for a 3* hotel. The room was adequate with a nice side view. Unless you are the height of a pigmy, the chandelier near the end of the bed could put you in distinct danger of a concussion. It's positioning and size is a mystery to me. Rooms could do with a 'Don Not Disturb' sign
What I did find unacceptable was a wedding evening do in the main hotel (not ours) going on till 12.30am. We could have danced to Abba in our room and it was far too noisy. May be we were directly above the Do but why not let that room to a guest at that wedding or wind it up at a reasonable time of midnight.

Breakfast was good in the pleasant dining room. There is a large car park, mainly gravel, so it could be hard work walking from the very good, stand alone Tennyson suite back to the hotel. May be 'nit picking' but a tarmaced car park would enhance the venue although I acknowledge the likely cost involved.

The hotel does have really lovely grounds and there is plenty of outside seating near the main hotel building. It isn't perfect but is a nice hotel.

Room tip: Avoid one above the wedding reception evening do's , such as 212.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Managing Director at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you for the review of the wedding attended, we do have a policy of putting guest attending the weddings in the rooms closest to the function, I can only assume the confusion on this occasion was that you were in fact attending a wedding at the hotel, just not the wedding closest to your room, we have been successful in organizing the rooms in the past acording to those attending functions please accept our apologies mixing these two weddings up in your case.

best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Had a meal with 12 friends Surprised we were offered only Rump as the only choice of steak however the choice of other dishes suited everyone inc veggies excellent service that complemented the well cooked food a great evening

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank dbrailsford8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Brilliant food probably the best afternoon tea I have ever had mini fish and chips was a lovely surprise,lovely setting .staff very pleasant but the service was a little slow had to wait to catch someone’s eye for fresh pots of tea . Very reasonable price

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank debrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Managing Director at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for the great review of your afternoon tea, we do try to let people have time to relax and not rush them when having afternoon tea so may be that's why it seemed a little slow, it's great to know that you enjoyed everything though.

best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Rooms as clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Breakfast was delicious and fresh! Although there was a wedding on and a little noisy, the noise was not in the Hotel itself. They have a separate building so this does not disturb other guests.

Will return

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dreamer802501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Managing Director at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Many thanks for the review of your recent stay with us, it's great to know you enjoyed it so much and that you will return.

very best regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We met with a colleague here for an evening meal. We met in the bar known as ‘The Lounge’ for drinks before eating from the bar menu.

We all chose fish and chips which is accompanied by peas or beans and tartare sauce. All were good.

We had ordered a bread to nibble on whilst we waited, but unfortunately this arrived with the main. It was quite doughy and had a strong yeasty taste, which was disappointing, however it was removed from the bill.

All in all a good meal, we are fairly local so have been to eat here many times before, but it was our colleague’s first stay at the hotel.

We like the hotel and will return.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Globetrotter08uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Managing Director at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Many thanks for the review of your meal with colleagues at the Brackenborough, I will address the issues with the bread, however it's great to know that you enjoyed everything else and that you are regular customers

very best regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews