We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
37
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding receptionbeefvenuefunctioncarvery
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We had our whole wedding at the Poachers, from ceremony, wedding breakfast, to evening reception. We honestly could not have asked for a more perfect day and a lot of that is down to the excellent staff at the Poachers. I stayed at the venue the night before with my Mum and bridesmaids and we were able to set up the venue just how we wanted. On the day, me and my husband both felt so comfortable that the staff had everything under control, the bar staff were all so lovely, absolutely amazing cocktails - they made just about anything! The waiting staff were brilliant, even bringing out extra food when a child wanted to try some of the adults meal. Everyone had their food at the same time, which for me was a massive rariety at a wedding, all our guests absolutely loved the food - we went for the elegent menu and my goodness it was beautiful! The evening buffet I have to say was the best wedding buffet I have ever had - for such good value. Our photographer got so many amazing pictures thanks to the beautiful surroundings of the venue.
We also had breakfast the day after the wedding at the hotel with around 20 of our friends and family, it was a buffet style full english breakfast that was gorgeous, they had even gone to the trouble of getting gluten free vegetarian sausages for my grandma!
We even had a card and bottle of champagne left outside the honeymoon suite from the staff - lovely small touches like this made our day so perfect. I can honestly say I did not feel stressed at all throughout the planning of the wedding and on the day itself, this is thanks to the amazing wedding planner Lisa - she would respond to any question/query from me usually within the hour which is incredible! I really can't sing their praises enough. Thank you for the perfect day.
Katie and Liam x

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katierebekahuzzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Manager at Poachers Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for the lovely review and we wish you all the best for your future together Katie and Liam, many thanks from all the team at The Poachers Country Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Don't judge a book by its cover!....This was never as true ad for me when we were looking for a venue for our wedding. The Poachers Country Hotel doesn't stand out or look anything special as you draw up to it....However!.. once you are inside you like I will be surprised by how the traditional, warm and beautiful the interior is. Straight away you can picture your special day. The main room is soft and intermet with its soft draped sashes, it's twinkling ceiling lights and curtain, wooden floor, nooks and crannies and traditional country bar. The Bridal suit is beautiful and the guest rooms are comfortable and modern. The food is of a high standard, Good choice, tasty and good portion size. The staff are professional, friendly and will do what ever they can to make your day a vert special day.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nina676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HED82, Manager at Poachers Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Nina,

Many thanks for the lovely review and the very kind words about our lovely venue, we are very happy you like it as much as our team do :)

Thank you for choosing to hold your special day with us it was a pleasure working with you on your wedding and we wish you all the happiness for the future.

Many thanks and best wishes once again for the future xxxxxxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Was delighted to be invited to a wedding reception, the venue was decorated lovely. Staff are very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. The table service was good as was the food especially the dessert. Lots of space outside which was lovely for the little ones to be able to run around. We stayed overnight room was a good size with tea/coffee in room, bathroom a little small. Could be a little cheaper with room rates. Breakfast was ok not the hottest I have had as its all prepared and kept warm it was ok but I personally prefer freshly cooked breakfast. Not enough pastries they had all gone before half of us had got in the breakfast room. Nice venue for functions.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank petin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HED82, Manager at Poachers Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Customer

Thank you so much for the lovely informative review.
Many thanks and best wishes from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Myself and my now husband got married at this fabulous place on 18th June 2016 and from start to finish I couldnt have wished for anything better, nothing was to much trouble. The food, drink, decor, disco and everything else supplied by them was 5 star.
The venue itself is beautiful inside and out with a lovely garden with astroturf so you wont get muddied up if its wet, inside is fabulous to all the rooms are decorated to a high standard, I couldnt have wished for a better day, thankyou to all involved xxx

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Manager at Poachers Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Sonya

Congratulations on your wedding and wishing you all the best for the future together.
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your special day with us.
Also for the fantastic review.
Thank you so much and wishing you both all the happiness for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We held our wedding at the poachers and it was an absolutely amazing venue. Lisa and all the staff helped to make our day so special and nothing was too much. Everyone was so lovely and it's such a beautiful building.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank catherinerohland88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Manager at Poachers Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Catherine

Thank you so much for choosing us to host your special day for you.
Congratulations and all the best for the future from all the team.
Many thanks and best wishes. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews