We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Yew Tree at Cliffords Mesne
Open today: 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM, 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Well worth the visit

Was walking in area and booked into here for Saturday lunch. Landlord was very welcoming.great... read more

Reviewed 6 June 2016
Shazzery
,
Gloucestershire
via mobile
Well kept beers and child friendly

This is such a good place to pop into for lunch. The landlord knows exactly how to keep the Wye... read more

Reviewed 4 June 2016
dancinggreen
,
gloucestershire
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
6
8
1
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
8
1
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile


We visited the area on holiday from Hertfordshire. Not knowing the area we checked Christmas Day menus well ahead and the Yew Tree was by far the most appealing so we booked in. I have to say it was the best decision as the atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. We do not eat meat and as such were concerned we would not get a decent meal however we could not have been more wrong. The food was brilliant, well cooked, homemade and very tasty.

The owners made us feel very at home and the waiting staff were great, all very accommodating especially when asking to wait a while between courses to allow for some more room!!!! We were not rushed along as we have been in previous establishments.

Overall it was a lovely experience and a beautiful Christmas meal in a friendly, family run county pub.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank manda_dmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

We called in here to have a look at the menu with a view to having lunch. As it was raining heavily we went inside rather than read the menu on the doorstep!
We stepped into a quiet cold bar...two lonely diners were eating in the corner. We spotted some menus on the counter and read through them... Nobody was there to greet us! In fact nobody came at all! The place seemed uncared for.. No atmosphere .. Soul-less!
We turned on our heels and went back out in the rain!

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Lovetoeat4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Lovely food but really quiet and so chilly , had to keep my coat on which detracted from the meal. Bit disappointing for that reason. Meal lovely as before but people will steer away in the Winter evenings without some cheer. Radiators cold, fire not on! Staff welcoming but wheres the fire? Whats happened here?

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank claire9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely meal at the Yew tree today with my hubby. Very pleasant surroundings nice and clean, staff friendly, gluten free and vegetarians catered for.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank JeanetteMessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Hats off to the staff, couldn't have been more tolerant or more helpful!
Simple lunch enjoyed by all in great surroundings. Beer well kept and well enjoyed.
Can only really comment on my Ploughmans which was just the job. Stilton in particular was tasty and just the right temperature to be creamy and flavoursome.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank SA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews