We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful holiday in charming cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bank Cottage

Cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and garden
Lounge with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Cottage and garden
Lounge with open fire
Kitchen diner
Kitchen diner
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Bathroom
Garden with picnic table
Tudor wool merchants house, now village butchers
Red Lion, one of the two village pubs
Wheatsheaf hotel & restaurant
Village bakery
Sherbourne Arms pub & carvery
Charter sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Northleach, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Penny S
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful holiday in charming cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful Cotswold village.It was a perfect base for walking through rolling countryside. The cottage was cosy and warm in spite of extreme temperatures outdoors. Shops, wine bar and market conveniently close.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smashing cottage, smashing village”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Wonderful cottage with perfect sitting room for long drowsy nights by the fireplace, for which extra wood was provided by the kind manager.

Very well equipped cottage, lovely garden, comfortable beds and lots of space in the rooms.

Linens/towels all fresh and lovely.

Northleach is a wonderful vilage.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we needed - an escape to the country!”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This cosy cottage was ideal for our weekend get away. It was fully of character whilst having all the conveniences on hand. The open fire was laid ready to light, fresh flowers and tea tray on arrival. The couple who look after the cottage are worth their weight in gold offering a warm, friendly welcome and helping when we ran out of logs.
All four of us had a good time and we are looking forward to visiting again and exploring a bit more of this beautiful part of the world.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage.
Liked least: Parking - nothing the owners can do about that!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archaeolo...
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely old cottage”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were a mixed group of friends and stayed for two weeks, while taking part in an archaeological excavation at Chedworth Villa nearby. The owners were very accomodating and helpful as we needed more bed space than was provided as the double bed could not be shared!
The cottage is old and a bit creaky but we soon got use to it and slept well. It was just right for our needs and when the weather turned a bit cold and wet the heating worked well and having a washing machine came in very handy.
Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswoldt...
Davis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting. Yuck!”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was so horrible and run-down we were unable to spend more than a half hour there. The furniture was ratty and dirty with years of wear. The linens were all worn-down and horribly faded. The carpeting was threadbare with runs and tears in it so that it couldn't possibly be shampooed. There was grunge from years of use in the carpet folds along the walls, again that could not be cleaned of stains. I could go on. The only good thing about this place was the gracious housekeeper! The odd thing is that it was the same price as a very lovely cottage we stayed in Stow. Is there no quality control? From now on, we will be sure to use a booking agency that actually stands behind its recommendations. I will add photos soon.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: There was nothing likeable about his place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
We always take any complaints from guests seriously, but were astonished to receive this one. Mr Saltveit and his partner arrived for a short stay from America. A couple of hours after they arrived our caretakers called in at the cottage to see if everything was ok, and they seemed quite happy.
That same day Mr Saltveit phoned me to say he had a serious family emergency and they needed to leave immediately, asking us if he could have his money back.
We told him we would be unable to re-let the cottage at short notice, and the best thing to do would be to claim his costs back under his travel insurance, whereupon the guest told us he hadn’t bothered to take any out.
We got paid in the usual way by Holiday Lettings and repaid his security deposit ten days later, as at no time did he complain to us, our caretakers, or Holiday Lettings. At that point we received an e-email, again asking for some money back. We again explained that this was a travel insurance issue, also telling him we were sorry about his family problem and offered a special discount to offset his losses if he wanted to return at a later date.
There was no reply and we feel this review totally unjustified and only added to the site because he didn’t get his refund. We feel our other reviews speak for themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing