We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
127
14
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub great beer steak nespresso machine beer garden lots of character bar tab quiz night breakfast was delicious friendly and welcoming staff fresh seafood great smelling mod cons wet room real ale modern twist large dog
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay with our dog Rex was excellent. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had dinner the first night and the food was delicious. The same goes for the breakfast. The room was cosy and ideal with a wet room which was useful with Rex.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravel818201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great room. Quiet. Friendly staff. Best vegetarian breakfast I’ve had in a hotel. I would recommend for anyone wanting a good night in an independent inn. After hours entry/exit is well considered (which was a relief as I was attending a late event in town).

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank DogbertsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came to Harwich for the weekend, and had a lovely meal in here on Saturday night. Will definitely be coming back!! The staff were very polite and the atmosphere was amazing, especially as the night went on!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank bensawyer1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We stayed here for two nights having booked at the last minute after being let down on our original accommodation. From the get go, the staff were lovely, the general vibe of the place was friendly. They seemed to do just about everything right; lovely rooms, great bar (real ale and great wine available in the same establishment, which is in itself is a rare find), great breakfast and great food. 



We were heading to Harwich on this occasion to have dinner with some friends at a local restaurant, next time we will be heading to Harwich will be to eat, drink and sleep at the Alma, a rare find.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank WilliamBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

This was a lovely place to celebrate a special moment for my daughter finishing her MSC.Food, service and atmospheric were excellent. The Inn is a rare find. A typical British establishment with a sense of history and taste.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pesta1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E, Manager at Alma Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review Pesta1963, glad we where able to be part of your celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews