We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely historic home in old Harwich”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Staircase  up to Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Kitchen
Bathroom
Courtyard Garden
The river Stour at John Constables Flatford mill 25 minutes drive
The Stour estuary
Views off The half penny pier. 1 minute walk away
Harwich Harbour 1 minute walk away
The Waverley Steam Paddle boat at Half penny pier
Harwich Harbour 1 minute walk away
Half penny pier took from on board The Waverley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Harwich, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely historic home in old Harwich”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at this property for 10 weeks due to home repair, it was ideal for what we needed. Lovely, cosy lounge, excellent bedrooms and bathroom, kitchen could do with updating but very good overall. Stairs are little steep so may not be ideal for very young children or older people. Our daughter is 6 and she had no problems.
We enjoyed our time here, and was convenient for work and school. If holidaying then ideal for the Quay and beach, parks and restaurants.
Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Thanks Charlotte we have just started to update the kichen and have replaced the Microwave, Cooker and moved the Washing machine back into the kitchen.

Regards

Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M
Bb7 9jd
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely old property providing a good base for exploring this interesting area”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

7 of us stayed at the cottage and it accommodated us all easily. There was plenty of space for the children to play and for the family to eat together. We had a family party with 26 people there at one time and everyone loved the house . Harwich is well worth a visit with plenty to do , the cottage is near the beach and harbour. The Thai at the end of the road is excellent and there are a number of cafés and pubs nearby. Colchester is 17 miles away with its castle and good shopping. The owners Michael and Tracey were very helpful and approachable

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Thanks Kay, Im glad you enjoyed your stay.
We have just replaced the Microwave, toaster and the 500mm Cooker with a 600mm wide one.
We have also moved the Washing machine back into the kitchen from the private utility room to make everyones stay more enjoyable and convienient.

Regards

Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john l
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We first stayed at ye olde Harwich house when we wanted to come and see the New Years firework display which is held every year there.
Wow !
What a place ! Almost 500 hundreds years old as i remember, and constructed using items such as old ships timers and the like. Michael and Tracey the owners are the passionate owners who know all about it's history and lavish the sort of care on it that's normally reserved for vintage cars.
Centrally located in the old sea port of Harwich itself, it's surrounded by atmospheric pubs, fine dining and 2 mins from the old pier - if you have a yacht you need to tie up for the night !! Swimming in the sea all year round, off the beach 2 mins in the other direction, is possible if you're made of hardier stuff.
Harwich train station ( also a 2min walk ) is the end of the line drawing you away from civilization, but can whisk you back to central London in about 90 mins.
So for us it was like finding a little goldmine and our return this summer for 2 weeks recharged our batteries to get us through to next spring. Although we are only two i can see it would be quiet possible to sleep the 7 they advertise, with the availability of 3 bedrooms on 3 floors. But quiet honestly, the low rates they charge means sharing wasn't an issue for us.
Hopefully we can get back again next year and this review hasn't made it too popular and overbooked !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Probably..... the ancient fireplace, as a feature
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Very kind words. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Diamond on the seacoast”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had the great pleasure of staying at this beautiful home...Love at first sight indeed. The interior of the house is beautiful with a very warm homely feel. Great location to the local pubs/restaurants and it literally takes 2 mins to get to the beach. Harwich is a great place to visit, and with a beautiful home like this one..one might consider staying indefinitely.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thanks so much glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley_J...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing, would stay again!”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here with our border collie Harley (the owners said it was ok as long as he was house trained) and we absolutely loved it!

We took the advice of the owner and visited Flatford mill where we hired a rowing a boat and rowed down the river - so much fun!! (£8 for 1 hour) and then enjoyed a cream tea in the cafe looking over the river! We also walked in the Stour woods and it was truly beautiful!
Harwich is a lovely little town, lots of pubs which stay open long into the evening and places to eat. The Pier Hotel serves amazing food and The Alma produces a wonderful dressed crab to go along side lovely cocktails!

The beach is a 2 minute walk, the pubs are a 2 minute walk, you can take your Dog into the New Bell pub which is amazing.

The house itself is lovely. Really quirky and done to a high spec. The bedrooms are wonderfully decorated. The beds are really comfortable with good quality bedding. The bathroom is gorgeous! Overall the house was lovely and light, and it felt like home away from home, but still maintained that hotel-like charm.

I would thoroughly recommend this to anybody no matter what your age, as there is plenty to do and see in this beautiful part of the UK!
We have already booked to return but this time we will stay for a full week as there were many places we wanted to go to but didn't get time over the 3 days.

Enjoy :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedding and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thanks so much.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 168
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing