We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen area with everything you need to prepare a meal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen area with everything you need to prepare a meal
Double Bedroom with a king sized bed and Egyptian cotton sheets Double bedroom with double aspect
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Kitchen area with everything you need to prepare a meal
Double Bedroom with a king sized bed and Egyptian cotton sheets
Double bedroom with double aspect
Your own car parking space
Churchside Guest Apartment
Bright and sunny Churchside guest apartment
Super bright lounge area with cosy log effect  fire
The Shower room
Churchside Guest Apartment
Southfacing & secluded courtyard garden.
South facing courtyard garden
Perfect spot for morning coffee!
Garden Flowers
Field at the back of Churchside, spot the deer!
St Peter's Church next to Churchside, a 'tin tabanacle' church built in 1885.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saffron Walden, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Philip U
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just the right size for two and very convenient for Cambridge, Saffron Walden and indeed East Anglia generally. The property was spotlessly clean and furnished to a very high standard including linens etc. How wonderful to have a modern washer/dryer and ironing board for weary travellers to freshen up laundry. And fresh fruit on arrival!
Would thoroughly recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mr robbie...
1 review
“didnt want to go home”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

had a fantastic stay at the church side apartment, relaxing, quiet with wonderfull experiences and scenery. bridget and jeremy made our stay a wonderful week to remember and looking forward to returning very soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for the good review. We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine W
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have just returned from a cosy 2 night stay at the Churchside apartment. Everything was immaculately clean and comfortable. We arrived to milk, fruit and biscuits which we were extremely grateful for, even the dog had his own biscuits!

Even though the apartment is an annexe to the main house, it is completely private. All rooms are spacious and kept to a high standard - you can tell the owners take a great amount of pride in their property.

Thank you for a great stay - couldn't have asked for more! We will be back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy cottage feel
Liked least: Not being able to control heating as controlled from main house, we didn't have any problems but we weren't sure when it was due on/off
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you for such a good review (and sorry I've been so slow to respond!) We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. and really hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A charming apartment, just right for our visit to Essex/Cambridgeshire. Well equipped and in a lovely countryside location. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Hi Thank you so much for your good review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. Very best wishes Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuluHSydn...
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, comfortable place to stay.”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Bridgit and her husband have a delightful rental property in a beautiful little hamlet near Saffron Waldon. The Apartment is large enough for two people not to feel cramped; it has newish furniture and fixtures and a tasteful decor. The bathroom is a reasonable size and the kitchen has been fitted with most mod cons. It is quite close to Cambridge and other attractions yet set in idlyic surrounds which you want to explore by foot, which we did for quite a few hours and miles along well marked foot and bridle paths. I only found one shortfall and that was my cell phone had lousy reception, though the Internet was good. However, Churchside Guest Apartment is certainly worth a short term visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and homliness.
Liked least: A bit isolated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing