We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Cricketers' Arms(Saffron Walden)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saffron Hotel(Saffron Walden)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Thaxted)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 74
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cricketers(Clavering)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leggatts Farm(Saffron Walden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
112
97
44
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
97
44
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machinefood and winemushy peaslight lunchfree standing bathmarket townsaturday markettwo courseslovely roomcar parkbeautiful buildingfull englishbed was very comfortableshower roomour waiterlovely townon the small side
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

A very rainy Good Friday in Saffron Walden saw us in The Cross Keys Hotel for a late lunch.

We sat in a lovely room with a roaring open fire, and had drinks. The food was very good, the Cod and Chips was well enjoyed as was the Beef, Stilton and Ale pie with a bed of mash and caramelised red cabbage with vegetables.

Very friendly staff and good atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

just went for lunch did not stay, very cosy restaurant it was good Friday so quite busy the food was just okay, the service was appalling waited ages for someone to take our order, then when we was presented with the bill a service charge was added, so we deducted it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank suzanneksmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A very grey rainy day. Menu seemed good. We chose the special 2 course menu. i.e. Starter and main. Starters were fine. Main, We both chose battered Haddock and chips
Mine was very disappointing. Looked good until I cut into it ! Skin side up! Luckily I had tried a chip first. It was perfect, crisp and crunchy on the outside, soft and fluffy inside. The mushy peas were also good. Cut into the skin side up fish, tried a bit of the mush looking flesh and that was it!!! I know goo haddock when I eat it and this was not good.. My partners fish was slightly better and he did eat most of it; although he acknowledged there was an awful lot of water lying on the skin.. The staff were very professional, listened to our complaints and only charged for one meal.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 505disgruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

In Saffron Walden it's the best place to stay. Nice historical style, friendly service, good breakfast. Placed in the center of the town. I have spent few nights in the another hotels nearby - they are much worse. Kross keys hotel is the best in this area

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Mira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Awful cold Carvery food and no
Care for their customers. Staff were very parrot fashion and could not offer a hot meal instead - ridiculous. If they had apologised we might have stayed but they showed they didn’t care at all

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews