We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
515
243
105
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
243
105
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poulett room cream tea sea view lyme bay lovely hotel scones main restaurant wine list car park breakfast and dinner scallops lovely setting no lift relaxing break fantastic views jurassic coast return visit
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We visited here for our 5th wedding anniversary and received a warm welcome as always having been several times before, but on this occasion since the newly built orangery we found the food sub standard. Staff were very hospitable and could not fault them but the food certainly didn't live upto expectations.

We ordered starters which was fine but was surprised when the nicely baked warm bread rolls they used to serve were now served cold, for mains we ordered the seafood platter and for an extra £15pp supplement ontop of the £45pp set menu was expecting something special as we've eaten many of these dishes in the UK & France before which have all been excellent but this seafood platter was certainly not showcasing the South West jewels because it was vastly lacking in flavour, had clearly been frozen so not fresh, and basically felt like we was eating a seafood platter from M&S.

Given the cost which we never mind paying so long as its quality, our seafood platter alone worked out to be approximately £45 each so £90 for:

1 small crab
1 small pot of fries
2 Frozen wet lobster tails
2 Frozen wet lobster claws
Mussells

No prawns
No langoustines

For desert we ordered the cheese board which was ok but bulked out with copious amounts of celery & grapes and very small pieces of hard cheese no soft.

All in all we left not wishing to return due to our experience which is a shame as the setting is just magnificent with views out to sea and coupled with excellent welcoming & knowledgable staff deserves to be better.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear Robin G

Thank you for writing your review, I am sorry that you felt let down on your most recent visit to us. We appreciate all feedback from our guests both positive and negative and I will certainly pass on your comments to our chef.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Just returned home from a 2 night stay in this hotel; we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and had high hopes after reading some reviews.

Firstly there is a very helpful young man on reception and he gave us a warm and friendly welcome. Sadly, not all staff were like him.

Very disappointed with the level of service in the Ammonite restaurant. We'd booked our table for 7.30pm, gave our order, then waited and waited. Eventually at 8.20pm I asked the waiter if our soup order was ready as we were hungry. About a minute later he came back with our soup! We'd obviously been forgotten. Then he said with sarcasm 'we've got 2 restaurants and only 1 kitchen'! Completely unnecessary comment, we weren't rude to him or anything. We noticed that diners who came in after us were being served quicker than us, why should that be? All our food took a long time to arrive and we finally left the restaurant at 9.30pm. We had a very uncomfortable nights sleep, the food lay heavy.
On leaving the restaurant the receptionist asked if we'd had a good evening, so we told her of our experience. She kindly knocked the supplement charge off our bill which we appreciated. Unfortunately she had a word with the staff regarding our experience. This resulted in the breakfast waiting staff behaving in a surly manner towards us, (some staff on duty at breakfast were there the night before). They kept ignoring us when we tried to attract their attention so that we could order our hot food and coffee. They were very unpleasant towards us and it really upset me.
This hotel is very expensive considering this is a small seaside town. There didn't seem to be anyone in charge, no hotel manager, no restaurant manager. Not even a Basil Fawlty! Lyme Regis is nice and we normally go there just for the day, but this was an anniversary treat. We would definitely NOT stay there again. It just doesn't warrant the high price charged.

We stayed in a Peek Room. At first viewing it seemed OK, good towels in the bathroom, shabby carpet though and the bathroom was very cramped. If someone sat on the loo the door couldn't opened.

All in all poor value for money. Also I don't understand why resident guests have to pay a £10 supplement for the privilege of eating in the Ammonite restaurant?

If you charge top prices for your services, you have to follow through with top quality service, sadly they don't at this hotel. We won't go back. Just over £480 for 2 nights plus one evening meal! Not good.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ladyeleanor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear ladyeleanor1970

Thank you for writing your review, I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I will be sure to discuss the points which you have raised with all concerned.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Spent two days at this lovely hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was wonderful. Arrived on a Sunday just after lunch when the staff were flat out but they could not have been more welcoming. We had a Poulett Room (and I now know why iit is so called). It had lovely decor and a large comfortable bed, with the most amazing views of Lyme Bay, bathed in beautiful sunshine. We ate in the Conservatory that evening and the food was extremely good and staff attentive. Breakfast was also very good and served to your table - no cold buffet here! Yes it is on the expensive side - is it worth it? Yes absolutely! Would we make a return visit? Most definitely! A gem of a place ,

Room tip: Upper floor for views
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank patsyq2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear patsyq2016

Thank you for writing your review, I am pleased that you decided to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us at the Alexandra. We wish you both many more happy ones to come.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We found it difficult to make a good combination of starter and main course from the rather limited a la carte menu. We both chose the cauliflower and almond soup as being the only choice which fitted our mains, the Cod and the Pork tenderloin. The soup was rather thick for our taste. The Cod dish was good, my Pork tenderloin was beautifully tender but both dishes were spoiled by being little more than lukewarm. Neither when we informed the waitress at the table nor when I paid the bill at the till was there any explanation, let alone apology. Two two-course meals, a glass of wine, a tonic water and two coffees, £74. Underwhelming.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Musicman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear musicman41

Thank you for writing your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with dinner at the Alexandra. I appreciate the points which you have made and will be sure to pass this onto the head chef.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Wonderful stay. I’ve been before and it’s just beyond marvellous. Beautiful rooms, hotel, gardens, location and the staff are generally quite wonderful. We had a simply marvellous time and everyone said they wanted to come back separately. I do think there are some quite serious staffing issues going on but I imagine this will be sorted and more staff taken on.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank arderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear arderne

Thank you for writing your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your return stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again in future.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews