We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveller rating
515
242
105
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
242
105
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poulett room cream tea sea view lyme bay lovely hotel scones main restaurant wine list car park breakfast and dinner scallops lovely setting no lift relaxing break fantastic views jurassic coast return visit
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 930 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We booked into this hotel for a meal on recommendation. The service was good and so was the food, but we were expecting something much more amazing. The whole experience was pretty average. We were also seated next to a family in the dining room where children were running around and were very noisy - children should NOT be allowed in the restaurant after a certain time. Most high quality hotels have this policy. Cannot comment on the rooms though.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank holly2236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear holly2236

Thank you for writing your review, I am sorry that you felt disappointed with your stay at the hotel. I will be sure to discuss the points which you have raised with the Alexandra team.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Stayed for three nights with the family. We had a well appointed room on the ground floor with a convenient second door which opened onto the croquet lawn. The views over Lyme Bay were quite lovely and the hotel makes good use of its grounds to enjoy the vista. The hotel has a family feel to it and the staff are focused on your comforts. The location is great for the public footpath leading down to the beachfront. Parking is a complicated affair in Lyme Regis as a whole and the hotel has its own off street parking, though it can be quite the jigsaw puzzle when leaving.

Food was very good - the breakfasts were enjoyed by all in the family and afternoon tea was quite lovely in the garden. It was particularly appreciated that the kitchen was able to deal well with allergies.

The only consternation were two visits from housekeeping to turn down the beds long after the children were asleep. The front of hotel staff were suitably apologetic and management did offer us 20% reduction on our stay by way of an apology.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Andrew R

Thank you for writing your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Alexandra, I am very sorry that you were disturbed by our housekeepers while they were doing the evening turn down. We always suggest on check in to the room that if you do not wish to be disturbed simply make use of the ‘do not disturb sign’ placed on the door handle, this makes our staff aware that you do not wish them to enter and they of course respect this request. We certainly hope to welcome you back some day to the hotel and Lyme Regis.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Lovely boutique hotel, very friendly staff, great location. We loved our room on the ground floor with fabulous garden and sea view. Delicious food but my husband was disappointed that kippers were not available for either of the two breakfasts.

Room tip: Ground floor sea view superb
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annie2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Annie2307

Thank you for writing your review, I am happy to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again someday.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely warm scones, loads of clotted cream and delicious jam. A really lovely cream tea in a beautiful conservatory. Friendly and attentive staff. We also had a sandwich beforehand - the crab sandwich was especially nice. Would definitely recommend and will return. Thankyou

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ScaryCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ScaryCanary

Thank you for writing your review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us in our fabulous new Orangery.

Sean Smith
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

I booked afternoon tea for my wife and her friends. We were 'upgraded' to the tower as there was a wedding party in the conservatory. The location and views across Lyme Bay are amazing. The tower provided a private space but with the views. The food and service were very good and it wasn't too pricey. We will definitely go back.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnmotoguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Johnmotoguzzi

Thank you for writing your review, delighted to hear that afternoon tea in our tower went down so well, hope to see you all again soon.

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews