We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”

Review of Colmer Farmhouse

Colmer Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Colmer Farmhouse
DINING ROOM dinning room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Colmer Farmhouse
DINING ROOM
dinning room
Passage way from kitchen to lounge
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen window
Half ot the kitchen
the other half of the kitchen
lounge
the entrance
The Marshwood Vale
The Marshwood Vale
young stock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JohnOwens...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Probably better in the Summer”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The home is at the end of a long drive and tucked down in a valley. It is a semi-detached house with extensive horse stables across a bricked courtyard. The house is a good experience of living in a traditional style farm house. Note, however, that it has not modernised on the inside. There is a farmhouse kitchen with brick floor and Aga range. When we visited - in Feb - the house was cold other than the sitting room. There is no wifi or cell phone coverage. The house was generally clean but it had the feeling that people had not been in there for a while - cobwebs and some mold around some of the windows. We were shown through the house upon arrival by a helpful and friendly owner who had made a fire in the woodburner which sits in the inglenook. We requested the place for a single evening which the owners quite nicely accommodated. However, we were asked to pay a £25 charge for bed linens and towels and I was surprised to find them just stacked on the beds. The point of booking them ahead was to not have to mess around with putting them on after a long day and for £25 pounds extra I expected that to be done. The closest pub is a 20 minute walk away (partially on a busy road). It had a great selection of beers and the curry night was worth going to. Again, very very basic but with a nice atmosphere and full of locals. If you want an economy place to stay for a week or more with group of 5 or 6 a short drive away from Lyme Regis and Charmouth and it is during the warmer/drier times of the year, this place might be worth a look - particularly if you are interested in looking at horses. If you are looking for a shorter stay at a different time of the year - I'd recommend a B&B which are plentiful in and around the coastal towns nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Woodburner, sitting room
Liked least: Needed a better clean - put the sheets on the bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
I'm sorry you did not find the house to your liking most people do, the comments and pictures show we have original flooring in the house, and by other reviews I would assume you would realize that horses are in the yard. We put clean linen on top of the beds as we do not assume sleeping arrangements.
We offer the house as old, but with the wood burner lit which it was and oil fired heaters around you should find it warm. if you would like square walls and central heating with carpets then we are not for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
56default
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

What an amazing place. The photos and description here do not do this place justice, it's incredible. Quirky, cosy and spacious, Colmer Farmhouse ticked all our boxes and more. We wanted somewhere a bit different to spend New Year that was out the way but close to the coast. The inglenook, the Aga, the horses; so many features that make it unique. Our 2 girls loved it, even asking if we could leave the beach early to go and play in the house (although admittedly it was raining!). The owners were really helpful and showed the kids the foals which was certainly the holiday highlight for them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: A couple more pans would be useful but I'm nitpicking here.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Hi ,
many thanks for your comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passport5...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful farmhouse. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The photographs really do not pay justice to this beautiful place.

We had a fantastic weekend and look forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate B
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage was very cosy and full of character - loads of space and in a lovely location. Great service whilst booking and a very friendly welcome on arrival. Everything we needed - we loved it, thanks

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, spacious, wonky, characterful, peaceful farmhouse”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for a sunny week in September with our toddler and extended family. Lovely old house in the middle of nowhere - the pictures do not do it justice, the rooms are massive! Quite a privilege to stay in such an old house (some parts 14th century) Lovely hosts who live in the main farmhouse up the track. Lots of horses including a pregnant mare next to our garden who was so gentle with my daughter which she loved! Enjoyed cooking on the aga (which is easy) and getting cosy with the woodburner. Easy reach of lovely places like Lyme Regis, Bridport, Beer and Exeter is an hour away. Thank you for a lovely stay :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing