We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A relaxing stay in a delightful cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Plenty of room to relax Gas log-effect stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Plenty of room to relax
Gas log-effect stove
Large dining table
All modern appliances in the kitchen
5-foot double bed
Galleried bedroom
Bath with fixed overhead shower
Owners' cottage on left, The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The garden at Bedford Cottage
Buckland Monachorum village
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk from The Forge onto the Moor
Miles of moorland to explore
More ponies
Riverside walks
Climb a tor
Admire the view
Enjoy a cream tea
Walk around Burrator Reservoir
Postbridge
Loads of walks with fantastic scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
tallhouse
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing stay in a delightful cottage.”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Set in the pretty village of Buckland Monachorum, The Forge is a most comfortable cottage for 2, beautifully equipped and extremely comfortable. The friendly owners, Carol and Andrew, welcomed us and showed us round, and there was plenty of helpful information available in the cottage. Although the weather wasn't very good during our four night stay, we were warm and comfortable, and well situated to explore Plymouth and the surrounding countryside. We would certainly like to come again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying in the Forge which we found to be excellent. We really felt at home in every sense- it was spotless, comfortable and in a lovely position. Carol and Andrew were really lovely and very helpful. Will be returning as soon as possible!! Thank you for a lovely break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaffodill...
Farnborough
1 review
“Perfect accommodation, perfect hosts, perfect location.”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Forge is a delightful extension of the hosts own cottage. It' has a spacious feel due to the high rafted ceilings. It is beautifully furnished throughout and offers a peaceful and relaxing place to unwind after a busy, energetic day sightseeing.
There are so many places to visit and walks to explore that we didn't get to see and do this time; what a perfect excuse to return to The Forge and the idyllic village.
Hosts Andrew and Carol could not have been more helpful and friendly, ensuring our stay was 100% perfection..
Thank you so much and we look forward to visiting The Forge again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comforatble tranquility in an idyllic place”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed at Bedford cottage for a few weeks so that I could be near my fledgling business. The cottage is located in the village centre within easy walking distance of the pub which serves excellent food and drink. It is well furnished and has everything that you will need for your stay with plenty of hot water, a very comfortable bed and a kitchen which met my needs more than adequately. The living room is large and double height giving a non claustrophobic living space with which the heating system easily copes.
Andrew and Carol who own the cottage, live in the adjacent building and they were excellent hosts who were very keen to see that my stay was made as comfortable as possible. This was so much better for a long term let than a hotel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large open plan living space
Liked least: The church clock but I soon got used to it.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanntomps
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, even lovelier hosts”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I stayed in the forge for a long weekend just before Christmas. Whilst the weather was poor we had a great stay, a warm welcome, great local knowledge and fantastic location for walking on the moor.
Booking was easy and quick, no faults at all.
We will definitely be staying again, hopefully the sun will shine next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing