We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Plenty of room to relax Gas log-effect stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Plenty of room to relax
Gas log-effect stove
Large dining table
All modern appliances in the kitchen
5-foot double bed
Galleried bedroom
Bath with fixed overhead shower
Owners' cottage on left, The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The garden at Bedford Cottage
Buckland Monachorum village
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk from The Forge onto the Moor
Miles of moorland to explore
More ponies
Riverside walks
Climb a tor
Admire the view
Enjoy a cream tea
Walk around Burrator Reservoir
Postbridge
Loads of walks with fantastic scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Mark S
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very beautiful, comfortable and well equipped cottage in a quiet village. The cottage was very warm, clean and well kept. Andrew and Carol were very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble.

This is a great location for exploring Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth, Tamar Valley and Cornwall. There are great walks from the cottage. Easy walking distance to a local garden 'The Garden House' where you can have tea and cake or a light lunch. A very enjoyable trip recommended by Andrew was from Plymouth by the Cremyll passenger ferry to Mount Edgcumbe. At the end of the day we enjoyed lovely meals at the Drake Inn within walking distance of the cottage.

We are looking forward to making a return visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location in easy reach of walking and attractions
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apbellama
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy quality accomodation”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Forge. The location is beautiful, and we enjoyed the peace and tranquillity very much. The Forge is very comfortable, immaculately presented and very well equipped. Our hosts Carol & Andrew were very welcoming, and thank you for arranging the lunar eclipse! Lots of things to see and do within easy reach, and a friendly local pub serving good food within 50 yards - what more could you ask?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Forge. It was everything the photos describe and we were not disappointed. It is beautifully furnished, clean, spacious, light, warm and comfortable and we had everything we needed. The location is good too and there are lots of lovely places to visit nearby. The owners live on site and were incredibly helpful, but not at all intrusive. The village is small and there are no shops so it would help to arrive with some provisions, but it has a church and \ pub which serves food. The bedroom was up a short flight of stairs and the bathroom downstairs which might be a problem for people with mobility issues - but the owners also have another property on site which is suitable for the disabled. We would certainly recommend this accommodation and hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_59mille...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“great location & wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Forge is in a great location close to Dartmoor National Park and the coasts of Devon and Cornwall. There is lots to see and do and if you love the outdoors this is a great spot to explore from.
Andrew and Carole were excellent hosts who provided us with lots of information. The accommodation was well cared for, kitchen stocked with all you need and bed was comfortable. We found it a great spot to relax at the end of the day. While we were here for only 4 nights we believe you can easily spend a week or more exploring the area.
We would definitely consider staying here again if we return to this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimcs01
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful trip, the accommodation was perfect for 2 it was beautifully furnished, very well equipped and maintained to a very high standard. The owners were very helpful, they were there to greet us, they recommended walks to us and even gave us a compass and a flask for our trips. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accomodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing