We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect in every way.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Comfortable and light sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Comfortable and light sitting room
Matching sofas
Log effect stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Internal view to bedroom
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Internal view from bedroom
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MCBTruro
Cornwall, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

If you are looking for a stunning property in a beautiful and tranquil village location, this is it! The Lodge is tastefully decorated to a very high standard and is very comfortable with everything that you need. The owners are very accommodating and the entire stay has been a real joy. This is a jewel and I would highly recommend it. It is simply perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel; very comfortable and relaxing stay.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiffba...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“In a word - Amazing”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Fantastic location in a quiet country village setting. If you want more than just a quiet break then Plymouth is a mere 20 minutes away.

Buckland Monochorum is a very quiet little village next to Crapstone on the edge of Dartmoor. Ideally situated for exploring the moors or day trips all around South Devon.

The owners of this fabulous little cottage Andrew and Carol are great. They are on hand for any questions or queries without being part of your holiday. The cottage itself has everything you could wish for on a short break. I stayed for a week with my wife and we needed for nothing.

Would recommended to anyone and everyone .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doraexplo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“We didn't need to worry about the small stuff”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Considering the circumstances of our visit to Buckland Monachorum (family funeral) Andrew and Carol where very welcoming and on hand to meet our "needs"

With my father being in a wheelchair, my parents found The Lodge to meet all the requirements a wheelchair brings. My cousin and myself where put in the Annexe, Andrews spare room as it were.

We would recommed the accomadation to anyone wishing to stay in the area

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Dartmoor. The cottage is extremely well equipped and decorated beautifully. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albans201...
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Met all our expectations.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A well appointed new cottage. Friendly and helpful owners.

Located in a lovely quiet village which an excellent base for walking on Dartmoor and locally in the Tamar valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing