We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnabas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnabas House
Ranked #1 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming Warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed for two nights and loved it. After exploring Dartmoor for a few days in windy February, it was lovely to be so warmly welcomed to this cosy gem by Carolyn. The room and en suite was impeccably clean and had everything needed for a comfortable stay was provided. Breakfast was excellent - there was a wide variety on offer from fresh fruit salad to full English.
Best of all, Carolyn spotted I was a knitter and pointed me in the direction of the best yarm shop in the west!

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thanks very much indeed, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay, even though it was a bit wild and windy here this week. It was lovely to see your beautiful handiwork, and glad you found the shop in Bovey Tracey. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
154
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed for a night in mid November. Our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was copious, and the owners were very friendly. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thanks very much for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take full advantage of your early check-in to see some of the area. Hope you had a good time in Falmouth too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very Clean,Tidy, all you could need, I would happily return with my family and highly recommend this place to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Law2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thanks very much for your nice review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay, despite having to work hard and leave so early in the morning. Hope to see you again if you return to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Heading for Cornwall we decided to break the journey from Staffordshire.
We were given a warm and friendly greeting by Caroline and Pumpkin the Cat,
I had booked Room 8(Annex).The room was Lovely,Crisp bedding,smelt fresh and immaculately clean.
The on suite was spotless,well stocked with individual cosmetics and beautiful towels.
Hospitality tray was well stocked with quality goods.Room was perfection.
We ate locally and enjoyed the night air before retiring to our room.The bed was very comfortable and the we both slept beautifully,enjoyed a lovely shower.Only thing missing in the shower was a shower radio..bit quirky i know but i love my music in shower.
Breakfast selections were very good,lovely fresh fruits, cereals and yoghurt.Breakfast cooked by Ian was very nice,good quality produce which is what we love.
Barnabas House is a wonderful B&B.Run with love and attention to detail.
This an establishment that should be recommended to one and all.
Kindest regards
Gaynor & Stuart Fowlie.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breeze48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thanks very much indeed for writing such a nice review, we're so glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us, and we hope that next time you'll be able to stay longer. The shower radio is a good idea - we'll keep an eye out for one. Thanks again, Ian, Carolyn and of course ... Pumpkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at Barnabas House for a few days and we had a great time. Our room was large, pleasant and clean with comfortable beds and a large comfy sofa, (such a blessing for tired feet at the end of a busy day) our modern bathroom was spotlessly clean and well equiped.

Breakfast was great, expertly cooked by Ian and served with care and friendly attention by Caroline.
There is also a pub just across the road that does good food in the evening.

Also there is plenty to do and see in the area.

All in all a great place to stay, thanks Ian and Caroline

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thanks very much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay - especially as part of it was a gift !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
7.5 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.8 km away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
25.4 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 km away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnabas House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabas House

Property: Barnabas House
Address: Barnabus House Harrowbeer Lane | Devon, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,453 - ₹ 7,612
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnabas House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcomed to our lovely Edwardian home with comfortable spacious rooms, designed to make you feel right at home. All rooms have modern bathrooms, colour TV/DVD/Freeview, hospitality tray with a large selection of teas/coffees/hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits. Bathrooms have large fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and some have a bath as well as a shower. All rooms have a silent-running fridge stocked with fresh milk. In a great location for exploring Dartmoor, Devon and Cornwall by car, cycle, bus or on foot. You can walk onto Dartmoor National Park in under 5 minutes, cycle straight onto the Drake's Trail, or utilise our great bus service to Plymouth/Tavistock/Okehampton and beyond. We have secure cycle storage and free on-site parking as well as high speed wi-fi in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnabas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing