We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous escape in a beautiful setting...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Luggs Barn

This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
The vaulted, beamed living room: a stunning space in which to unwind Luggs Barn is tucked away down a private lane yet accessible for coastal and countryside days out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
The vaulted, beamed living room: a stunning space in which to unwind
Luggs Barn is tucked away down a private lane yet accessible for coastal and countryside days out
The balcony and garden furniture are perfectly placed to take in the wonderful views
Luggs Barn's well-equipped and stylish kitchen/dining room is perfect for leisurely meals
The spacious ground floor master suite features French windows opening onto the cobbled courtyard
This bedroom features an en suite shower room, window seat and exposed stone walls.
View from farmhouse across the cobbled yard to the hills beyond
The spacious family bathroom (shower over bath). There's also a downstairs WC plus two en suite
Rear of the property showing part of the huge garden and the gravelled parking area
The orchard is a mass of primroses and blossom in the Spring
Luggs Barn enjoys a huge private garden - perfect for families, pet owners or anyone seeking peace
The perfect, atmospheric location for a party or wedding reception (bring own marquee etc)
Soak up these glorious views from the balcony or garden - the perfect chance to unwind
Guests can explore our 5 acres of land, inc this woodland which is carpeted with bluebells in Spring
The owners' picturesque 15thC farmhouse is Luggs Barn's only neighbour
Monty and Ted are hugely popular with guests!
If you'd like to wake up to this view, call us now for late availability offers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire S
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous escape in a beautiful setting; peaceful, picturesque, paradise!”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

From the moment I enquired about Luggs Barn, Sarah was warm and welcoming. Her friendly reception made us feel completely at home and she was on hand to help without being imposing in any way. The barn itself is great, particularly for a group of friends and/or families. The rooms were all good sizes and the bathrooms were well equipped (great power showers). The barn was also very cosy and the log burner added to this wonderfully. The decor is modern and fits well in the setting; as we were a group of 8 adults with a toddler and three dogs we were conscious about mess etc. but the decor was the perfect balance between being well turned out and people friendly! The cost of the weekend was also very reasonable and we didn't want for anything. I would highly recommend visiting Luggs barn - we will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, Claire. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you all again soon. Thankyou again for choosing Luggs Barn for your break. Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardPen...
Penzance
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect accommodation for a family get together !”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Arrived to find a lovely home made cake and a very warm welcome to start our lovely holiday. The Barn was just like the photos and more! Accommodation very spacious and clean and tidy. Lovely and peaceful setting. Our grandsons especially loved the dogs and chickens. Thank you Sarah and Family for a perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and Welcoming
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review, Anna. We're glad you enjoyed your break and really appreciate all your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to be able to welcome you again some time soon. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila A
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in amazing countryside”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Luggs Barn is a lovely holiday home and I would have awarded 5 stars but there were some items missing or not working such as no vacuum cleaner and a broken washing machine. The owners did kindly do some our washing but really when self catering I would prefer to do this myself. Also as this is a dog friendly holiday a vacuum cleaner is essential. Having said that we all loved the barn and have recommended to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry for the inconvenience - sadly both the washing machine and vacuum cleaner broke at the time of your visit. Both have now been replaced but while we were waiting for the new ones, we were as you say very happy to do guests' washing and vacuuming. Thankyou so much for recommending Luggs Barn and we hope to be able to welcome you again some time. Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairehac...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An idyllic retreat with all the comforts of home”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My family and I stayed at Luggs barn for my birthday and in order to attend a wedding in Wellington. It was a beautiful place, in stunning surroundings with all our needs catered for - from wonderful linen and powerful showers to a homemade cake on arrival and sheep and chickens on our doorstep to amuse my one year old nephew! Sarah was great, really helpful and went out of her way in advance and whilst we were there to make sure we had everything we needed. Would definitely return! Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thankyou very much for your kind words Claire, it was lovely to meet you all and we're glad the wedding went well. We hope to welcome you all again some time! Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly Dog Friendly on top of Everything Else”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Can only agree with all the good that has been said before. On top of this it was wonderful to find that with four dogs it was truly "dog friendly" This is so contrary to so many other places that claim to be so. Thank you for accommodating us all.
Hope to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lived up to expectations and more so with four dogs with us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Many thanks to you all for coming to stay! We loved meeting you and Monty and Ted adored having such wonderful playmates! Hopefully it won't be too long before we can welcome you all back again. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing