We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

The First and Last Bistro
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ermington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 February 2018

I visited the first and last bistro with my husband whilst away for a weekend in Devon. Our first impressions of the bistro was that it was full with charming, character and clean. We were greeted with pleasent staff who had great knowledge of the area and the bistros menus and were even able to recommend dishes to us. When the food arrive it looked and smelt delightful the service was swift and attentive and the waitress wasn't wrong with her recommendations as the food tasted delicious. We had a lovely evening and I would defiantly recommend the bistro to anyone visiting the area. In fact me and my husband are thinking of coming back for another weekend just to visit the bistro.

Thank sandraebbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefirstandlast, Owner at The First and Last Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to welcoming you both again when you visit this beautiful part of the UK.

Sincerely,

Sue Savery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

If you want food that has not been messed with, dishes that satisfy, a main course of flavour and great taste, then this is the place. Set in what must have been an old Devon long house, you are guaranteed a great meal. Not rushed, not fussed, just served with style and if you want good old bangers and mash, then have it! Can I also suggest you try the chicken in the cream sauce, if it is on the menu, you won't be disappointed. I say 'if' it's on the menu as they change the choices on a regular basis. There is a great wine list with some lovely heavy reds. Book a great experience now.

1  Thank FitzN60BRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefirstandlast, Owner at The First and Last Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sue Savery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Had a lovely evening at the First and Last. A blend of fine dining and British home cooking. Nice atmosphere, good menu, great service from attentive staff. They really are trying very hard and deserve to succeed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rodney f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefirstandlast, Owner at The First and Last Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thanks Rodney F for the kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Sue Savery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This was our second visit to the First and Last since the new owners took over and quite definitely our last. We felt the restaurant lacked any ambience or atmosphere. The service was extremely slow. We arrived promptly and had been there for almost an hour before our starters arrived. After waiting for half an hour, as everyone was hungry, we asked for some bread to be told they did not serve bread. We were offered vegetable crisps and in due course two small bowls of crisps arrived -they didn’t really help as there was about one each. We asked for a second bottle of wine and after waiting twenty minutes it proved much quicker to get up and go to the bar and ask for it again. There might have been some excuse for this poor service if they had been busy but the restaurant was only about one third full. The menu is very limited and the specials board that is mentioned only had two desserts on it. The food when it arrived was very mediocre and poor value for money. The vegetables that accompanied the steak were plain cauliflower and carrots which did nothing to enhance the steak. The chips were soft and not the crispy twice cooked chips we had been expecting. After we had finished our main courses we made an unanimous decision that we could not cope with another long wait for desserts and would ask for the bill and leave.

2  Thank Bertie9554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefirstandlast, Owner at The First and Last Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for your review. The approach we take is to welcome guests and show them to their table on arrival. We would not take food orders until all members of a group party had arrived and therefore an interim measure is to provide complimentary home cooked snacks whilst waiting for latecomers. We would respond to the comment of almost an hours wait for starters as follows: All food orders are completed at the table. The time of the order is added to the bottom of the ticket and presented to the kitchen to ensure a timely process is maintained. We would also respond that our menu is considered simple, rustic and seasonal; all food is responsibly sourced, sustainable and cooked fresh. The steak is served on a bed of mushrooms and accompanied by peas and chips as stated on our menu, whilst the duck, lamb,fish and chicken dishes are combined with vegetables of the day. The comment regarding the specials board - On the occasion of your visit Chef had made a delicious banoffee slice and zingy lemon tart. The specials change daily and could feature starters, main courses or desserts.
This is the second poor review received from you since your last visit in November and it is hoped that this a genuine opinion and therefore apologise that we have not met your expectations. We also hope you are able to find an alternative restaurant that meets your requirements in the future.

Sincerely,

Sue Savery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place for a meal. Definitely will be going back.
All three courses were very well presented and delicious.
We arrived early for our meal and were able to take a seat and have a relaxing pre dinner drink in the wine lounge.
Once at the table, looking at the menu I was spoilt for choice. I think the menu has been very cleverly planned to capture everyone’s taste buds.
During the meal the service was excellent, the waitresses were friendly and helpful. The owner Sue was front of house, welcoming and friendly without being OTT and Andrew the chef wasn’t afraid to come out of the kitchen to check if all was ok with the meal, which was a nice touch.
All in all I think they have created an excellent place to eat, excellent food with a good atmosphere. One that I certainly will put at the top of my list and return to in the near future X

Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefirstandlast, Owner at The First and Last Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you Suzanne F. Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sue Savery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The First and Last Bistro also viewed

Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
South Brent, Dartmoor National Park
 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The First and Last Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing