We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
324
269
85
42
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
269
85
42
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar bistro putting green included dinner steam room pro shop rasul mud leisure facilities reception staff sunday carvery the cottages birthday treat night stay both nights relaxing break self catering short break south devon
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

This is a regular haunt for us and this visit did not disappoint. The welcome was friendly, the hotel comfortable and clean with what appeared to be recently refurbished bathrooms. Disappointing that there were only biscuits for one with the tea coffee refreshments in the room. We ate in the Bistro on our first evening which was ok. Breakfast was great, super variety. The spa was great, pool steam room and sauna were great. Look forward to a return trip.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGCC, General Manager at Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us on TripAdvisor. It's very important for us to know how you found your stay!

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Dartmouth Hotel Golf and Spa and that we didn't disappoint. The spa is a good addition to the hotel and we are happy that you got to enjoy the facilities on your trip. We will ensure that your comments about the biscuits in the room get passed onto our Housekeeping team so that they can fix this in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Lydia Rootes
Sales and Marketing Executive
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DGCC, General Manager at Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

We have booked 4 bedroom lodge for my son birthday! Was very excited and looking forward! I always call to check my booking before we go! So I called them and they told me that by mistake they over booked and they can offer us a family room in the hotel . As it was kids holidays and all other places wich we choose was already booked we agreed. ( I called them, not they called me). They offered us free breakfast and it was about £90 chipper. I asked if it will be a good size family room?! Yes they said. It was one room and they squeezed 2 kids bads in it, no wardrobe even in the room. We had to keep all our clothes in the bags on the floor in this small room. They cleaned the room without even hovering or cleaning. The only thing we enjoyed was swimming pool, very good sauna and steam room. Is with time for kids and they did let us know about it. Thank you! I would not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank santabarbara89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGCC, General Manager at Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Santabarbara89,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor and we are sorry to see you were disappointed with your stay.

I am truly sorry there was an overbooking in the 3 bed lodge you had originally booked and that our reservations team did not contact you when this was immediately apparent, we don’t actually have 4 bed lodges.
I am aware that you had spoken with our reservations manager in detail prior to your arrival and having discussed this with your husband accepted the family room offered including the offer and acceptance of complimentary breakfast for our error. The family room offered did have two smaller beds located within them for the youngsters within your family but we were not made aware that you were unhappy with the room offered during your stay.

There was a wardrobe within the room which is an “open wardrobe” with hangers and hanging space for your convenience. The room is and was cleaned daily as commented by you, however, the housekeeping team does not move personal positions belongings/clothes of guests for obvious reasons.

We are delighted that you had the opportunity to use and enjoy the spa facilities and again apologies for this overbooking.

Kind Regards,

Lydia Rootes
Sales and Marketing Executive
The Dartmouth Hotel Golf and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We came here for a ball with friends. This is the first time I’ve been here and I had a superb time. The hotel has good amenities for functions and our meal was perfect. I had a prawn cocktail starter followed by the carvery where I went for gammon and all the trimmings which was tasty and finished with profiteroles. A great venue

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jus-the-job
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGCC, General Manager at Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for giving The Dartmouth Hotel Golf and Spa such positive feedback.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal here with us and we will ensure that your feedback will be passed on to the Chefs. We are always pleased to hear that somebody enjoyed their stay!

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review for us and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lydia Rootes
Sales and Marketing Executive
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

This is the 3rd time our society has booked DGCC, but the last was in 2011 and the first since Best Western took over the hotel & course. The golf, the hotel and the staff are excellent. Will definitely return. We've always struck lucky with the weather even though we book the first weekend of October.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 164jwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGCC, General Manager at Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for leaving a review for The Dartmouth Hotel Golf and Spa.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to us and are very glad that you got lucky with the weather as it has turned a bit grey since!

We will ensure that your positive comments get passed on to the appropriate departments.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review for us and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lydia
Sales and Marketing Executive
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews