We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“February Half Term”
other travellers have booked this property
Swallow Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallow Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside The kitchen in Swallow has an oven, microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Swallow Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
The kitchen in Swallow has an oven, microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer
The kitchen in Swallow has a low level work surface which is perfect for wheelchair users
The Master bedroom has a king-sized bed.
All beds are made with crisp white Egyptian-cotton linen.
The fully-accessible wet room is superbly designed and features a roll-in power shower
The wet room is equipped with grab rails for the less mobile as well as lever taps
The lounge area has stunning views to the lake and countryside beyond
Blagdon Farm: 8 luxury lakeside lodges set in stunning Devon countryside just minutes from the coast
Lodges all have covered porches for storing bikes, fishing kit, surfboards and mobility equipment.
The 11m x 5m indoor heated swimming pool (open April-October) and has South-facing sunbathing deck
It's the little extras that make your stay at Blagdon Farm so comfortable
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise B
1 review
“February Half Term”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I booked in Oct 2014 for Feb half term for myself, my sister & our 4 children. We arrived at this beautiful, picturesque farm and were shown by the lovely Karen to our lodge (Swallow) The lodge itself was beautiful & very clean & some lovely treats had been provided lovely grounds, bar open a few times in the week which was great & sold local ales. Games room was where we spent a lot of time & the kids loved it! The pool was closed but looked nice. Great if you've got dogs and the surrounding villages are also worth a look. Booking again for next year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caz4709
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home from Home plus an incredible view”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I stayed in Swallow from 28th November to 5th December and thoroughly enjoyed it. Karen and Ian make you feel so welcome and it is obvious from the way in which they keep the lodges, and generally run their business, that their guests' comfort and enjoyment are top of their priority list. The lodges are so well equipped, very spacious, perfectly clean and the views from both the lounge and main bedroom are to die for. They were telling us that they have only been owners for 18 months and of the poor condition the site was in when they took it over - you certainly wouldn't know that now - what they have achieved in such a short space of time is truly amazing. They also said there are many more things that, with time, they wish to do, so, judging by the high standards already in evidence, Blagdon Farm is set to be incredible by the time they are finished. Karen and Ian are so friendly and helpful, never intrusive but there in the background, ready and so willing to answer questions and assist in any way they can. As another reviewer commented, a really lovely touch was the excellent scones, jam and cream waiting for us on arrival; there was also a bottle of their own apple juice, which is really delicious, plus a pretty lidded box with sachets of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Internet access here is easy and FREE - so many hotels and resorts charge you for this service and since the mobile reception can be a bit temperamental it is great to be able to email and browse.

Obviously we went at a colder time of year, although the weather was very kind and we were fortunate enough to enjoy lunch on the veranda on a couple of days, taking in the wonderful view of the lake and the beautiful Devon countryside beyond. Going so late in the year we did have a concern as to how warm the lodges would be (I really feel the cold) but we no need to have worried as, due to the way in which the lodges are sited, the sunny days warmed the place and once the evening approached the efficient central heating kept us cosy and snug. The heating and water are set to come on morning and evening but since all the lodges (eight in total) have their own controls you can override these times and therefore need never feel cold (or too hot for that matter). The exterior surroundings adjacent to the lodges are very well thought out too with a large, roofed, fully accessible area by the front door where you can store anything from boots, to bicycles, to fishing tackle and mobility equipment and in front of each lodge a parking space for one car, with extra parking spaces only a short distance away. Rotary clothes lines are available, pegs, airer, iron and ironing board are all provided in each lodge. The enclosed verandas are more than ample for the table and chairs provided and with no access onto the grounds are safe for toddlers and youngsters; another nice touch on each veranda are the wooden troughs planted up with seasonal plants and there is a base for the parasol which at this time of the year was stored in the bedroom cupboard all neatly done up in its crisp clean cover. The grounds and lake are well cared for and make for a lovely walk and you may be lucky enough to spot the deer and hares that visit the garden. We did not use the swimming pool as it was out of season, nor did we feel energetic enough to use the Games Room but looking through their windows they both looked well appointed and cared for, in common with everything at Blagdon. The bar is comfy and welcoming, well stocked with Devonish and Cornish wines and beers, together with the more well known varieties, all at very good prices (Karen and Ian are not in the business of ripping you off!!!) and they are such great company - we very much enjoyed our chats with them.

The surrounding countryside is lovely, with pretty lanes and thatched cottages, plenty of pubs and many interesting villages and towns nearby. There is a wealth of eating places within easy reach, with a lot of them offering good value local produce on their menus. Although Blagdon Farm sits pretty much on its own there is also a lovely hotel with large grounds right next door - it's called Blagdon Manor which Karen and Ian recommend for that special meal. For shopping Holsworthy is only five miles away and has a small market on a Wednesday, selling mostly local produce but also a couple of craft stalls. There is also a very interesting museum there and entrance is free. A Co-op and Waitrose are also there. The nearest petrol station to Blagdon is four miles in the direction of Holsworthy. Launceston is a bigger town at 10 miles away, with Tesco and a wide range of shops, and about a mile and a half before that, at Dutson, is Homeleigh Garden Centre which is absolutely amazing - it sells everything to suit the dedicated gardener or allotmenteer, plus a clothing section, a huge basement with everything from china to Christmas decorations, an incredible Food Hall selling a myriad of items including local cheeses, yoghurts, cream, meat, biscuits and honey to list just a few - there is also a nice a cafe - we never knew you could spend so many hours at what appears to be just a garden centre. We also visited Bude (great surfing beach with cafe), Crackington Haven and Padstow which were all an easy drive.

As you will no doubt have guessed by now we were very impressed with both our stay at Blagdon Farm and the surrounding areas. Blagdon is very peaceful and not at all commercialised, but there is enough to do there and around about that even those with young children would, we are sure, find it a great place to spend a holiday. The lake is an idyllic spot for those who love to fish and since it is so well stocked there isn't much chance of returning to your lodge without having had a "bite". Karen and Ian also offer their accommodation through RCI so if you are a timeshare owner do look out for Blagdon Farm on their website. We hope that we have included enough information to whet your appetite and all we can say in addition is if you are considering Blagdon Farm do not hesitate to book - you won't regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rejones
Milton Keynes, England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A friendly and peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The hosts were very welcoming and helpful and took really good care of the accommodation and the lovely site. Swallow is one of just 7 or 8 lodges and was spotlessly clean and well equipped. There is a small (5 pitch) caravan site on the farm, as well as spacious grounds with open views, a fishing lake, a small swimming pool, a games room and a quiet bar, well-stocked with local bottled beers etc. The location is fairly isolated and peaceful, but there are many places of interest and amenities in easy travelling distance. We found it a great place for a holiday and strongly recommend it.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa h
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place Blagdon Farm is. The owners Karen and her husband Ian couldn't do enough for you. We thought the complimentary cream and jam scones on arrival was a lovely touch and the tea and coffee (especially useful if you have not been to the shops beforehand!).

Its in a lovely, peaceful setting and all the cottages overlook the Lake. The pool was always very warm and the kids (two boys 8 and 10) loved the games room too, especially the X-Box 360, table tennis and table football.

It is a very private place and you share the grounds with only another 6 cottages. The facilities in the cottage were excellent. We made full use of the washer/dryer and the dishwasher. The shower was always lovely and hot and because there was wheel chair access in the cottage it felt very spacious.

We would come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing