We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location”
other travellers have booked this property
Curlew Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream. All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Curlew Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
All beds are made with crisp white Egyptian-cotton linen.
Curlew Lodge living room is practical and with lake views from the large patio doors to the balcony.
Curlew has a fully-accessible wet room featuring a roll-in power shower, grab rails & lever taps
Curlew kitchen includes a washer/dryer, dishwasher, cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer
Lodges have covered porches where you can store bikes, surfboards,fishing kit and mobility equipment
Each lodge has a private balcony.
The 11m x 5m indoor heated swimming pool (open April to October) has a South-facing sunbathing deck
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Juliet C
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing location . The lodges are spacious and well equipped . The good sized balcony just looks straight over the most beautiful view. Having breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening whilst watching the sun go down and listening to the distant owl hooting was incredible.
We did take our two well behaved working cocker spaniels on holiday as the website said dogs welcome. This is the only issue we would ever have with this holiday . Looking at the pictures I'd wrongly assumed the dogs could run freely but reality was if they put a paw outside the door without a lead the owners told us off quite sternly . There was An exercise paddock a few minutes walk away to be fair . They did point out that it is written in the rules when we arrived that dogs must be kept on leads at all times but we would absolutely not have chosen this location if we had been told BEFORE we had arrived. I totally understand that some properties would rather not have dogs .... But please don't pretend to be dog friendly when it obvious that isn't the case. After a slight argument with the owners they stormed off to phone the agency but later came back to apologise and said they would make it clear in the website and we could have our dogs off the lead this occasion however, knowing how much it was annoying them we didn't feel comfortable doing so even though they are extremely well behaved and we are very respectful of other people .

Saying this, we would totally recommend the property and have done already to anyone who doesn't have dogs or who doesn't mind the strict rules regarding dogs. It's the most beautiful peaceful location and so well kept.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we are really pleased that you liked the property and the location and that you would recommend it. We would like all guests to be reassured that we do welcome dogs in 3 of the lodges and on the caravan site, but we do ask that dogs are kept on a lead except in the dog walking field where they are very welcome to run free. The main reason for this rule is that we have a 1.5 acre fishing lake and to ensure the safety of all guests (particularly young children) we expect dogs to be kept under strict control. At times we have had a dozen dogs staying here and if they were all permitted to run free not only might it frighten those guests who may not be comfortable around dogs but it would also potentially endanger the dogs. We also recognise that it is almost impossible for owners to clear up after their dogs if they do not know their whereabouts - and there have been other occasions when twice a day we have had to clear up dog mess that has gone unnoticed by owners. Therefore when people arrive we politely ask all guests to respect our policy. We have only recently accepted dogs in Curlew lodge and unfortunately we had omitted to ask the agency to explain our policy on the website. However, it was only after asking the guests 3 times that they explained that they would not have chosen the property if they thought the dogs should be kept on a lead. When we realised the omission we rushed off to speak to the agency to ensure that this requirement was included on the website, and of course we apologised to the guests for the oversight. We pride ourselves on being as flexible as possible and this guest will remember that we agreed the day before they arrived to take a third dog during their stay at no extra charge. However, it is our responsibility to ensure that all our guests have a happy and relaxed holiday and we believe that asking dog owner guests to keep their dogs on a lead except in the dog walking field is a reasonable request and will ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable and carefree stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairemma...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself, my husband and our two teenage daughters stayed at Blagdon Farm for a week in July. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome from the owner, Karen, who showed us round our holiday lodge and had even set out a cream tea for us all! The lodge was incredibly well equipped and spacious. It included a dishwasher and washing machine which was great. The views from the balcony were stunning and it was lovely eating on the balcony overlooking the lake and wildlife. There was a small but perfectly adequate pool on site as well as a very well stocked games room. The bar was a lovely place to meet other guests and Karen and Ian (the owners) were very accommodating as always. Blagdon Farm is also ideally situated for exploring Cornwall and Devon.

Overall, I would highly recommend Blagdon Farm; a beautiful and tranquil setting with great hosts!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul w
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“cant wait for our next visit”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Karen and Ian fantastic hosts, the lodges clean and tidy, looking forward to next time, peaceful and relaxing, cant wait.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L...
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most tranquil and totally relaxing setting anywhere.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a 300 mile drive to be able to relax in a beautiful bungalow that was extremely well presented and very clean yet homely was above expectations. The friendly and warm greeting from Karen made us feel like we were, not just guests but friends. The rather small swimming pool and changing rooms/toilet were,like the rest of the sight, cleaned to a high standard. A perfect place to stay if mobility is a problem (as in our case) with level access to all areas and one bungalow with low level units. Both course and fly fishing available in the area with the on sight lake holding low double figure carp although mainly in single figures. The views from the bungalow veranda were stunning and the wildlife close to hand a joy. East access to the coast and the local towns well worth a shopping trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing