We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we needed”
other travellers have booked this property
Wagtail Lodge is one of 8 fully-accessible, lakeside lodges on a small family-run holiday complex.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wagtail Lodge is one of 8 fully-accessible, lakeside lodges on a small family-run holiday complex.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside Lodges all have covered porches for storing bikes, fishing kit, surfboards and mobility equipment.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Wagtail Lodge is one of 8 fully-accessible, lakeside lodges on a small family-run holiday complex.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
Lodges all have covered porches for storing bikes, fishing kit, surfboards and mobility equipment.
The 11m x 5m indoor heated swimming pool (open April-October) and has South-facing sunbathing deck
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
Our self-catering kitchens have all you need to cook during your stay.
Wagtail living room is light and modern with lake views from the large patio doors to the balcony.
The king-sized bed has crisp white Egyptian cotton linen.
Wagtail Lodge is detached.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joansherb...
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was exactly what we needed after several years of ill health. The lodge was very clean and comfortable with everything we could have wanted. The hosts were very helpful and welcoming and the scones, jam, cream and local apple juice was a lovely touch.
The whole area is very picturesque and it was so relaxing. My husband enjoyed the fishing and managed to catch a few.
We had 13 different garden birds visit us on the balcony and saw some wildlife too.
Good position for visiting local coastal areas.
We would certainly visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The totally relaxing atmosphere and peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My partner and I booked Blagdon Farm for a long weekend away. We stayed in Wagtail Lodge and on arrival were greeted by Karen who was so friendly and helpful; we immediately felt welcome. The Lodge itself was so cosy and immaculately clean. Very peaceful and within a beautiful setting, overlooking a lake and never ending country side. Also a fantastic location for exploring both Devon and Cornwall. We will definitely return in the future, so thank you very much Karen and Ian for a wonderful stay at your comfortable base! X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great base to explore from”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Situated half way between Launceston and Holswothy, Blagdon Farm is an ideal base to explore Devon and Cornwall. The accommodation is modern with good kitchen facilities and comfortable bedroom. The view across the fishing lake is superb, and although we didn't use the swimming pool, it looked clean and well maintained having its own changing rooms. The bar was open on two nights whilst we were there and was comfortable although not busy, and the games room had table tennis and pool table. Friendly and welcoming hosts who went out of there way to make sure all was OK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A wonderful week.”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Blagdon Farm surpassed all our expectations. Taking a holiday with a disabled person is not easy, but everything here makes it possible. Wide doors, wheelchair friendly spaces, large wet room, plus the ability to hire extra equipment if necessary, all made our holiday a very positive time.
The area is so peaceful, surrounded by trees and with a view of a beautiful lake. The only sounds are the wind in the trees and the clucking of the friendly chickens who potter about.
Wagtail is one of the smaller lodges but is very well equipped and we found it quite big enough for the two of us.
We were welcomed by the owner with delightful scones, jam and cream in the fridge. She talked us through any queries and was always there if we needed to ask anything.
There are two local shops within easy reach, neither very large but stocking most basic things including newspapers. We did very little running about, but certainly Holsworthy and Bude are no more than an hour's run.
This is a place to which we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We came for a weeks holiday and had a wonderful stay. The owners cannot do enough for you. The lodge is very well equipped and a great deal of thought has been made to ensure you have a perfect holiday. The lodge over looks the lake and the views are outstanding. A perfect relaxing break thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing