We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect birthday getaway!”

Review of Macalby Cottage

Macalby Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Macalby Cottage
Harlyn Bay, surfer's paradise! Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Macalby Cottage
Harlyn Bay, surfer's paradise!
Living Room
Dining room
Kitchen
Back garden
En-suite bathroom
Family bathroom
Surf  Board/Wetsuit  Storage
Back garden
Harlyn Bay Award Winning Beach
Main bedroom
Harlyn Bay
Third bedroom with bunk beds
Peace and Tranquility
Surfing
Skim Boarding
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kim M
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday getaway!”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us stayed at Macalby for my daughters birthday. We couldn't have wished for a more spacious, comfortable and well equipped cottage. Perfect for the beach and not far from places of interest. We would certainly stay here again. Chocolate cake and milk on arrival was a lovely touch.....thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like you were at home even though you were away!
Liked least: The birds in the trees across the car park..... Bit noisy!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddy502
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is just a few minutes walk from the gorgeous beach and provides everything you need - it is spacious and comfortable with easy parking outside. There is a covered walkway which was great for cleaning the dogs before letting them back in the house. Arranging the stay was so easy and the cake and milk we found on arrival was just what was needed after a long drive. We will definitely be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The perfect location for a holiday on your own or with kids”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have stayed at Macalby for the last 5 or so years. Both pre and post having kids. It is the ideal cottage for a holiday in Cornwall. The accommodation is fantastic and the body boards and variety of wetsuits are a real bonus. The location is ideal, just cross the road and your are on the fantastic Harlyn beach. Our daughters absolutely love it and talk about holidaying there all year until we get back there. We will be back again soon.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexterspo...
Plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family holiday accommodation just a minutes walk from the beach”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautiful, well equipped holiday accommodation - we definitely appreciated the welcome cake!

Tucked away, we were surprised that the only sound we could hear was the sound of the sea which was less than a couple of minutes walk away. Superb location for exploring all 7 beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedding and towels were included
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisaH15
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a perfect stay at Macalby Cottage & would highly recommend it to others! Only a couple of minutes walk to the amazing beach, local Inn within close proximity too and a cottage which provided everything you needed to enjoy a home from home experience!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 844
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing