We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Want a relaxing gourmet break?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Heathfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heathfield
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Want a relaxing gourmet break?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We recently spent three nights at The Stone House as guests of the Dunn Family. We had a wonderfully relaxing time. Despite the rainy weather we enjoyed walking round the beautiful gardens on more than one occasion and were well located for visits to Great Dixter, Sissinghurst Castle and Sarah Raven's garden.
We had the canopied room in the house, at the top of the stairs to the right. Our bathroom was up a tiny staircase and offered much luxury.
As for the food, we were spoilt. The dinners were three courses and different each evening, and all cooked by Jane Dunn herself! The cooked breakfasts were to die for. We didn't eat for a week after leaving. We had a brilliant stay!

Room Tip: We would recommend the canopied room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misbehaviour999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    7
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Where to start?....can't believe the positive reviews on this hotel. Driving up to the hotel it looks amazing but don't be fooled by outward appearances. We were greeted by an old gentleman who we assumed was the owner, Mr Dunn and taken to our room by a member of staff who opened the door on another room which wasn't ours and where a couple were getting changed. Please note there are no locks on any of the room doors. When we asked for the key to the door, Mr Dunn said that they did not have locks as this was considered a fire hazard. The member of staff in our room then suggested that we push a chair against the door to stop anyone entering!! I guess if you wanted to leave your room, you would have to take your belongings with you or risk them being stolen.

We felt very uncomfortable with this situation and I was not prepared to sleep in a hotel room with no lock on the door. Our room smelt musty and unclean and there were stains on various items in the room, for example, the hot water bottle covers on the bed, the bin and the carpet and I did not want to sit down on any of the furniture in the room as it looked grubby.

As we were on our honeymoon we complained to Mr Dunn that we were not happy with the room and were not prepared to stay there with no lock on the door. Mr Dunn said that we would be charged for the two night stay as he had our credit card details and if we cancelled the card he would take us to the Small Claim Court as his son is a lawyer! We have stayed in some fantastic hotels and have never been treated so rudely and with such little respect. We left the hotel as we were too upset to stay there. The Dunn's have taken £500 from a newly married young couple without a care.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Mr and Mrs Dunn never fail to provide us with a beatiful setting for a short break in their lovely home.
The choice of rooms is always exciting - every one is different and we have now tried six of the eight - but nothing can prepare you fully for the evenings spent in the Drawing room or Library selecting from the constantly changing menu that reflects produce from the garden and the local landscape. This will be expertly cooked by Mrs Dunn and can be 'washed down' by wine chosen with the help of the very knowledgable Mr Dunn. Service can be 'excentric' at times but relax and let it happen!
Expert advice on the best places to visit in each season is always available and you must walk in the gardens.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We found this hotel , in fact something between hotel and B&B, by 'chance" , because it had two red houses in Michelin guide. The staff is very friendly, the room we had was wonderful (make your choice for the four poster in main building !) and the place stuffed with antiques.It belongs to the Dunn family for centuries. It is an experience to meet the lord of the house. Unfortunately we did not meet the lady, Mrs Dunn, because she stayed in the kitchen preparing a fantastic meal deserving at least one Michelin star if not two. We understood she had a cooking course earlier that day, unbelieveble she was still able the prepare this wonderful food, the best roast duck I ever tasted.
Make a reservation and look for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We enjoied so much our 2 nights stay in this old beautiful house.
Hospitality was very generous, breakfast is unforgettable.. in a very beautiful woody dinning room. The old rooms around the house - are all so elegantly and warmly decorated. D'ont forget to walk in the big garden... Highly recommened.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heathfield
15.0 km away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
15.1 km away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
15.9 km away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Claverton Country House Hotel
11.9 km away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
13.7 km away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House

Property: Stone House
Address: Rushlake Green, Heathfield TN21 9QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Heathfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heathfield
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Heathfield
Stone Hotel Heathfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing