We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic farm cottage with amazing views...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barley Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Access to private garden directly from living room
'Kilduff'
Barley Cottage from the field
View from bedrooms
View from bedrooms
Spring crops
View from fields
Snowy drive!
View from farm towards The Bass Rock, North Berwick
Lucy loves Barley Cottage!
Meet Isobel, one of our Highland Cows!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David J
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic farm cottage with amazing views - perfect to explore East Lothian.”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here in April 2016 and had an absolutely fantastic week exploring the beaches and castles of East Lothian. The cottage itself is immaculate inside, very comfortable and only a short drive from shops, restaurants and pubs. The owners were also lovely and could not do enough for us while we were there. A great base to explore the area for a family or group of friends. We definitely plan to return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
Meyrals, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as perfect as our previous visit”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having visited Barley Cottage in May 2015 it was a unanimous choice of myself, my daughters and my grandchildren for a week visiting East Lothian and family in Edinburgh. The cottage was a perfect base for our visits to local beaches and hills and a great day at The Museum of Flight. Its proximity to Edinburgh meant we could visit family, the sites and the restaurants without a long journey home afterwards. The cottage is located on a farm and everyone was very friendly to us and Lucy, as before, was the perfect hostess making sure everything was good when we arrived and continued to be so throughout our visit. We'll be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of rooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancsgirl...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous find, ideal for young families”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So pleased we found Barley Cottage! It was ideal for our base to enjoy a long weekend in Lothian with a hassle free commute into Edinburgh, a short drive to the coast with North Berwick nearby and plenty of other places in between.

The house is presented perfectly - clean, spacious, comfy furniture especially the sofas and beds, well provisioned (especially for young children - stair gate, high chair, cot, cutlery, plastic crockery, plug socket covers are all thought of to make the parents life easier and a big box of toys provided which pleased the children (3 and 1) no end, although the highlight for them was seeing the cows outside grazing in the field) and lovely decor too. It could be an expensive break as I've come home wanting to re-decorate!

Lucy was on hand throughout the booking process for any queries and also popped in on arrival and departure days to ensure all ok, as well as leaving homemade scones and jam for us to sample which were delicious and a real treat. Especially when arriving in the dark after a long journey with a recently toilet trained 3yr old and a toddler past his bedtime!! Note to self (and for others!) - follow Lucy's excellent instructions and not the sat nav, especially if arriving in the dark!!

We would definitely recommend Barley Cottage and hope to return ourselves in future years,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the ease for young families, the space within the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Barley Cottage and for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you all and hope to see you again at some point in the future. Best wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen S
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of four adults, a two year old and a baby had the most wonderful long weekend at the cottage.
Lovely touch with the yummy welcome basket upon our arrival and Lucy was quick to respond to my text and email queries in the run up to our stay.
The cottage is extremely clean, very spacious and had everything we needed. The children were well provided for with a high chair, stair gate etc as well as a box of toys and DVDs which kept my two year old occupied a lot, particularly on the morning of our departure when we had packed all his things away.
Wonderful location and setting with the most spectacular scenery. A haven for wildlife too. We counted seven pheasants in the garden one afternoon and loved that Lucy put out a lot of bird seed which attracted numerous bird species to the garden.
The cottage is handy for the flight museum, Dunbar (great kids farm park) and North Berwick for the beach, shops etc as well as being only a short distance off the A1.
We will be back if we plan another trip to the area. We couldn't fault our stay in the cottage at all. Thanks for a wonderful break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Barley Cottage and for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We count ourselves very lucky to be able to delight in the wonderful surroundings every day and our children still marvel at the wildlife. It was lovely to meet you all and hope to see you again at some point in the future. Best wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaraPJ
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Even though it looks remote it is a great location for visiting lots of attractions. It is literally 5 minutes to the National Museum of Flight (fantastic), Drem station (to get to Edinburgh) and exploring East Lothian is really easy.
The cottage is very clean and has all the amenities that you could need.
Can't recommend this place enough, me and my family had a wonderful time.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Barley Cottage and for your kind words. I am sorry it's taken so long to respond but your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Barley Cottage and hope to see you again at some point in the future. Best wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing