We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barley Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Access to private garden directly from living room
'Kilduff'
Barley Cottage from the field
View from bedrooms
View from bedrooms
Spring crops
View from fields
Snowy drive!
View from farm towards The Bass Rock, North Berwick
Lucy loves Barley Cottage!
Meet Isobel, one of our Highland Cows!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul N
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A fabulous cottage in a quiet area large enough for our family, clean and fresh and all you could need. Easy access to the station for Edinburgh and plenty of attractions within driving distance. A beautiful area and a beautiful cottage with lovely owners topped off by the muffins waiting for us on our arrival. Highly recommended. We will definitely return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: I do not have a negative
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Barley Cottage and for your kind words. I am sorry it's taken so long to respond but your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at some point in the future. Best wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gale8655
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exactly what we needed!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Peaceful, spotless and tastefully furnished. Everything provided, even some toys for my two year old granddaughter. Five minutes to Drem railway station for a quick service to Edinburgh and a short drive from the beautiful North Berwick. Would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Barley Cottage. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Barley Cottage 'ticked all the boxes' for you. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. With very best wishes from all at Kilduff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell L
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage, great views, Peaceful”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a great holiday cottage, very clean and tastefully done with all the creature comforts you need to have a home from home feeling even down to a nice welcome pack including local produce, along with all the essentials for your arrival we couldn't ask for more and the home made malteser cakes yum yum Thank you! We stayed at Barley Cottage for a week we wished we had booked two weeks. Barley Cottage is set within Kilduff Farm estate and its beuatiful grounds.
We loved coming back in the evenings after a day out to relax and unwind especially with the log burner and lovely views from Barley Cottage, loved waking up in the morning with the cows in the field and a pheasant in the Garden! So quiet and peaceful! We loved the bird feeders in the Garden and the owners were kind enough to leave plenty of bird feed too!
The Garden was great with everything you needed and was safe for children to play in.
It was also great to have the Wi-Fi. A big beautiful bath downstairs and a fantastic shower upstairs, the shower I would say is probably one of the best I've ever used! The bedrooms were very comfortable with even a couple of boxes of toys for the young children in the wardrobe, excellent! We will definitely be back again to Barley Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, too much to mention
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you had such a great stay in Barley Cottage. Sorry not to meet you in person. Please come back and visit us again soon! Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage, wonderful place.”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at Barley Cottage last week and our stay was fantastic. Located on the Kilduff Farm estate, the cottage is spacious and has everything you need with some lovely thoughful extras from Lucy. The cottage is of a really high standard and we've already recommended staying there to family and friends. Logs for the stove fire, handy out-buildings, a parking bay, barbecue outside on the patio in the private garden, nice furnishings, good central heating, a good shower and large bath, wifi, etc., etc., etc. We will return!
We found the location great as-well with plenty to see and do. 'The Waterside' pub in Haddington is a must, we visited the lovely town of North Berwick, the Museum of Flight, the Motor Museum and took a 30 minute train journey from Drem into Edinburgh to visit Edinburgh Castle. Even Drem train station is ideally placed at the back of the farms estate, just half a mile from the cottage with really convenient parking!!
We loved our week here and can't wait go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the cottage.
Liked least: Everything was just fine.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thanks for your review! We are delighted that you had such a great time in East Lothian and that Barley Cottage was such a hit! We will look forward to having you to stay in Barley Cottage again soon. Best wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ubikchip
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Second time weve been to Barley Cottage and it wont be the last!! - Great location, cottage has all mod cons, 3 bedrooms, great views and near to north berwick, haddington etc. Lucy always makes us feel very welcome e.g. when we arrived there was a welcome pack including fresh scones, jam, chocolate etc - a great touch. Has a nice peaceful garden etc. May Thanks Lucy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet plsu modern detached cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Thanks for your kind words! We are so pleased that you had another great stay at Barley Cottage. Please come back and see us again soon! Best wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing