We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 299
US$ 190
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Folly(North Berwick)
US$ 189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ducks Inn(Aberlady)
US$ 203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Open Arms Hotel(Dirleton)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
213
81
23
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
81
23
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstand alone bathfirst classmusselson arrivalsmall hotelnext morningno liftfriendly hotelroom was spaciousspent nightslocal produceevening mealsteakmain coursecouple of nightsplaying golfhaggis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our third Easter visit at Nether Abbey, and another nice stay. Same room every year, and nothing changed. Bath is working fine, and room ok, but it need a makeover. Breakfast is one of the best.
Restaurant is still popular, and food is excellent. Local deliveries and good cooking. But aren't there less changes on the menu that earlier?
Bar is very good; large selection of ales and whiskies. But especially range of ale, and new ales on tap, is great.
Service is good, and everyone working in the house are smiling, kind and you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is the first time that I've stayed at the Nether Abbey, and was there for a golf break with about 14 others, so a testing time for any hotel.

The double room we were given was excellent, spacious and well laid out, beds a little soft for me, but that's a very personal thing. My friend who likes softer mattresses was more than happy. We didn't try the restaurant as we ate at the various golf courses that we played at, but the bar was great, with a brilliant selection of beers to choose from. Special thanks to Tim and the rest of the bar staff who were prepared to chat to 15 mainly middle aged men, and share a joke, as well as recommending some great beers.

North Berwick is a perfect location for a golfing break with a number of excellent courses nearby. I would recommend Whitekirk which was a great course, and was much better than I had been led to believe, and Gullane. We played the number 3 course which is the shortest, but don't be deceived, it's still a test, as my putting figures demonstrated to me!

North Berwick was quiet, but it is early in the season at the moment. There is a great Thai restaurant in the town though which is well worth a visit, if you want to venture away from the hotel restaurant for a night.

Overall, I was really impressed with the hotel and the location, and hopefully will be back at some stage to try more of the courses in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvp1newc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We visited around a year ago and were enthusiastic in our praise, and being in the area again decided to stay 2 nights. in summary there has been a little decline in all aspects of the hotel and we would be less effusive in our praise.
Firstly on arrivial the room was cold and the radiator clearly needed bleeding, a single radiator for a large room with two glass windows. We mentioned this the first night and we were brought a convector heater to the room, which was ok but not ideal. We mentioned this the next morning to the cleaning staff. nothing was done. No apology. No explanation.
The service in the restaurant varied between excellent to awful and in particular something I really dislike. The female ( owner i think or wife of) brought a family into the breakfast room and for some reason was very attentive to them. no issue there ( no words of welcome to us however). Took their order even though we had been waiting for 20 minutes and their food of course appeared a good while before ours. Service generally was slow.
Would i go back? Maybe? But I dont know what has happened over the last year but the welcoming warm feel has gone and replaced with a kind of functional aspect. The cold room is not really acceptable for £100 / night.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a radiator that works
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed for several nights during a golf trip in May 2011. Very comfortable accomodations, close to many excellent golf venues. Service and food was was very good. Rooms simple, clean and functional.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyo_Yoship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a so so hotel and fits the bill for an overnight stay in many ways except for the quality of the restaurant. Service is off-hand bordering on rude. We were kept waiting for ages for the food (roast beef) to arrive and when it did it was cold, overcooked and of somewhat modest proportions. If you stay here I would recommend you eat elsewhere in North Berwick.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taralulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews