We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our family, stunning view, lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
View from the windows
The Old Whelk House
Kitchen
Courtyard
Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nicbapro
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family, stunning view, lovely touches to the accomodation.”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just back from an awesome weekend in Wells next the Sea for our anniversary. Having been visiting Wells at least once a year since we met 15 years ago we have seen many changes to the little town and seaside resort as well as in our lives. We now have a 1 year old and 5 year old and camping in October is no longer a good option (not that pinewoods really offers camping anymore!) This cottage was just perfect for us with the beautiful views, amazing location, friendly feel and homely details throughout. If we are fortunate enough to find it free again we will be booking this as a regular haunt.

Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, personal touches
Liked least: No wifi, although also liked this in some ways!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review. Much appreciated. Welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colette C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful Place & Ideal Location”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We both really enjoyed our holiday staying five nights in the Old Whelk House.
After booking the property, the owner emailed a detailed information pack with clear instructions/directions and background information about the Old Whelk House.
On our day of arrival we unpacked the car promptly outside the property, then drove to the car parking area which I felt was secure, a short drive down the quay and the car was parked behind a wooden gate.
The property is generously proportioned with a peaceful homely feel. The double bed in the ground floor bedroom is comfy with modern furniture and the bathroom across the hall has a modern suite. I would recommend taking a pair of slippers or thick socks as the stone floor felt rather cold on the ground floor, making the crossing from bedroom to bathroom however there were two large soft rugs either side of the bed which were cosy and warm.
The upstairs lounge has fantastic views over the marshes and made the morning cuppa a delight watching the birds and boats whilst sitting on comfy cushioned benches. There were a couple of small chairs in the direction of the fire & TV and to the side a large table for eating with the kitchen behind, adequately fitted with plenty of plates/cutlery and appliances.
The property is located in a perfection location; a short walk into town and all the restaurants/amenities/pubs and wonderful sea views Wells has to offer. Just perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Michae...
2 reviews
“accomodation right on the waterfront”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Located on the waterfront at Wells the view from the upstairs lounge/dining room is ever changing. Large double bedroom downstairs with additional settee bed, and the two "toe to toe" bench beds in the lounge suited the four in our family. Lovely coal fires in the lounge were perfect over Easter. Well equipped galley kitchen and downstairs re-furbished shower/wc were fine, lacking only an extract fan. Controllable central heating was a plus this early in the year. Good private parking just up the road and Wells has an excellent beach a 20 minute stroll out along the sea wall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for writing this lovely review.
Just a quick response to say we have now installed an extractor fan in the bathroom.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back to stay again.

Blair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing