We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
113
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews merchant's house the blue room homemade bread perfect hosts four poster place to stay situated perfectly without being overbearing private bathroom poster bedroom lovely days travel cot wonderful stay feel so welcome set you up for the day local attractions tea and coffee facilities
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had never been to Wells next the sea but after staying at The Merchants House we think that we might make this a regular trip. Liz and Dennis make you really welcome and the information provided on the area by Dennis is very useful. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the breakfast, which is made from locally sourced ingredients and cooked fresh by Liz, very wholesome and sets you up for the day. The free WiFi connect is a bonus and there is plenty of information on a flyer in the room about local attractions. The Merchants House is centrally located and close to all the local restaurants. A great place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Ztilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights mid week in July. This was our first visit to Wells-next-the-sea.
We stayed in the four poster room. The bed was comfortable, the wardrobe large , we could've done with some drawers space though. The tea and coffee facilities were good and the wi-fi excellent. Although there is exclusive use of the well proportioned bathroom ( bath and separate shower) , it wasn't en suite which meant a dash across the hall, Dressing gowns were provided to assist with this. Liz and Dennis were perfect hosts. I particularly enjoyed Dennis' wit and his excellent home made bread at breakfast. The breakfast room was lovely, very traditional. The breakfast itself was perfect, Well cooked and well presented. The Full English was extensive though I tried the smoked salmon and scramble which was spot on. There was fresh fruit salad too. We really enjoyed our stay , this is only our second B & B experience and it's encouraged us to more. Well done Liz and Dennis , warm and friendly non-intrusive service. Lovely. The price was spot on too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank miss15Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Had a one night short break in Wells. The Merchants House was a charming and interesting building in the centre of Wells - close to the harbour. Everything you needed was just a few steps away. Liz and Dennis were delightful hosts - friendly and welcoming- it was like staying with friends. Our room (four poster) was very nice and spacious - gorgeous bed and lovely bed linen. Large private bathroom just outside the bedroom with a bath and super efficient shower. The breakfast was just delicious - one of the best we've had (and we stay in lots of B&Bs) my husband said his poached eggs were the best he'd had - ever!! Would most certainly recommend this B&B without hesitation.

Room Tip: Both rooms delightful but quite different in design.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

A warm welcome awaits you from the minute you arrive at The Merchant's House - Liz and Dennis make you feel at home in their beautiful B & B, minutes walk away from the sea wall and the town. The place is clean and tastefully decorated and the 4 poster bed room is very comfortable. Breakfasts are freshly cooked with a variety of food on offer.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get the 4 poster room if you can (although the blue room looked lovely too!)
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cambridge1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

The Merchants House is simply excellent.

We were greeted by Dennis on Friday evening who not only settled us in with ease but is so great to talk to. You get to decide what time you want breakfast and take a key with you when you go, all very easy. We stayed in the room with the four poster bed. Being 6 months pregnant, I haven't been getting a good nights sleep lately. The bed and the room are very inviting. Very tasteful and classic, a really comfortable couch by the window with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits (just in case). Suffice to say, I had 2 excellent nights sleep. When I say excellent - I mean it. So cosy, so comfortable from the pillows to the duvet. Our separate and private bathroom was again, perfect. Great sized separate shower and bath tub!

The breakfast- exceptional. Both my husband and I commented on the eggs. Dennis said they were probably laid this morning and he probably knows which bird! The eggs come from a local friend who supplies the b&b. We met Liz just before breakfast and we continued to feel so welcome. Other bits - bacon was delicious, proper cooked tomato and some mushrooms YUM. Being a coeliac, they provided some great GF bread which was a lovely touch. Some fresh yoghurt with fresh fruit and we were set up for the day.

The B&B is situated perfectly. Easy walking access to the Quay and the great selection of restaurants and also very easy to navigate out of town if you want to go and visit other gems like Holkham Hall. Not to mention it is a lovely walk to the beach... Wells by the sea was my favourite beach. We saw seals hanging about the waters edge, quite magical. As the water is tidal, you can literally walk for miles along the lovely sand.

We were very happy to hear that Liz and Dennis can also provide a travel cot, so I hope they will be expecting us again! I would have like to have stayed for another evening...
We both felt very relaxed and had a great experience. Dennis and Liz are friends you wish you had and we look forward to returning to their delightful B&B in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank headcheflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews