We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Golf Course”

Royal West Norfolk Golf Club
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Myself and friends come on two trips a year and always attempt to play the finest links around. This is our first time to the Norfolk area and Royal West Norfolk was our first stop. Wonderful old club house steeped in history with a friendly professional and well stocked shop. The course itself was pretty much a straight out and in with the wind only about a club and a half so didn’t really play too difficult. Greens were a wonderful surface and ran really quick. Strong par 3s and a whole host of sleepered bunkers. A must play for any links golf lover. The only down side and the reason for four not five stars was we were only allowed to play as two balls or if we played as a four it would be forsomes format. This is the club rule and we understood before arriving. We travel all over and want to play together as a four in a friendly round of golf. I love tradition and think it’s wonderful to keep but move forward please. Even Royal St George’s has a day you can play as a four ball. All in all a great course we really enjoyed it just took a little away from the experience as we couldn’t all play together. Clubhouse staff friendly.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Tommy5075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"links golf"
in 4 reviews
"links course"
in 4 reviews
"high tide"
in 4 reviews
"true links"
in 2 reviews
"brancaster"
in 4 reviews
"fairways"
in 2 reviews
"bunker"
in 3 reviews
"par"
in 3 reviews
"hole"
in 4 reviews
"norfolk"
in 4 reviews
"round"
in 4 reviews
"house"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

This golf course is absolutely stunning with fantastic views over Brancaster Beach - wonderful day high tide! The chicken goujons were delicious haha!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 174lazd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

I've only played here once before and was looking forward to having another crack at it. It wasn't in very good nick at all, fairways were patchy, greens were bumpy and in true links fashion the wind blew a hooly which was to be expected. In the clubhouse we were greeted with a not very friendly barman, we couldn't even get a sandwich on a Sunday afternoon at about 14.30? All in all, I was disappointed with the experience. I would rather play Hunstanton. Better golf course, friendlier people on and off the course and you can get something to eat in the clubhouse after your round. Value for money at Brancaster was about 3 out of 10.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Stewart I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

A truly fantastic Links Course with a unique club house that is a true step back into golfing history. Every hole presents different challenges exacerbated by wind speed and direction. This is a unique golfing experience not to missed.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank A1n2thony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We visited 7 courses all along the Coast, this was supposed to be the Pinnacle of our trip, but when you take into account the entire experience our group thought this well down the pecking order!

The course is a historic links, and was in reasonable condition, but greens were slow and needed cutting (recent heat wave may have prevented them from doing so, but other courses seemed to manage). The Clubhouse is also historic, dark & musky smelling, which unfortunately mirrored the hospitality awarded to our to a visiting party, from staff and members alike! No choice of food, and not one smile or welcoming comment all day!

From our experience, Hunstanton GC is now the premier course on the North Norfolk Coast, highly recommended, a better course, in better condition, with better greens, and much better service and hospitality!!!!

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank ndhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal West Norfolk Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Royal West Norfolk Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing