We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice course, awful reception”

Royal West Norfolk Golf Club
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having played a few times I can say the course is great but once off the course the fun stops, twice we have been made to feel like we didn't belong and when passing on the weekend I thought Id drop by to see how bad the tidal storm affected the place. After walking towards the clubhouse and asking if it was possible to get a scorecard for a friend I was greeted with "Sorry, who the hell are you?" followed by "Sod off" I admit it must be frustrating to have the course covered in sea water and some structure damage but would Greg Norman have received the same welcome? Hopefully the see washes this vile man away with it next time...

Date of experience: December 2013
6  Thank bruceg931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"links golf"
in 4 reviews
"links course"
in 4 reviews
"high tide"
in 4 reviews
"true links"
in 2 reviews
"brancaster"
in 4 reviews
"fairways"
in 2 reviews
"bunker"
in 3 reviews
"par"
in 3 reviews
"hole"
in 4 reviews
"norfolk"
in 4 reviews
"round"
in 4 reviews
"house"
in 4 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Having recently moved to the area from Woburn, where we enjoyed a wonderful club. I was very tempted to join this club, I have used the pro shop many times and found Mike to be very helpful and a true gent. However on this occasion after my visit to the pro shop we thought a cup of tea and cake would be nice, and it really was, lovely tea and cake and excellent service thank you. My only gripe was that I having forgotten to remove my (very smart cap) I was approached by a club menber and informed that hats were not allowed in the club house , its a shame he chose to do so in a embarrassing and unnecessary manor, a discreet word would have cerficed. (I am always in favour that club rules are recpected) In view of this experience I will be looking to join Hunstanton golf and not Kings Lynn

Date of experience: November 2013
6  Thank Norfolkdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Awesome golf course and don't be put off by having to play foursomes - we still had a great day and you can get round (weather permitting) in well under four hours.
Everyone friendly especially the pro.

Would have rated this as excellent BUT we all agreed that whilst we are relatively fit the first tee is reached via deep sand and it takes considerable effort to push a trolley through it. A few railway sleepers (?) would help the more elderly/infirm visitors.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank GordonBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I play in a match every year against the club and along with Hunstanton and Rye is one of the matches I don't want to miss! The club is old fashioned and a little quirky and the course is out and back along the side of the dunes. There are a number of short holes Par 3s & Par 4s that still show you don't have to be long to be a good test. I would love to play it when the tide is in but have never been able to manage it :o( Sad for the guy who was disappointed but there's no accounting for taste! I for one am always pleased when its June again and I am out on the traditional links on Brancaster.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

What a wonderful place, some might say old fashioned but all the better for it. Fabulous traditional links where all your clubs and plenty of imagination is required. Have had the pleasure of playing during a high tide and the 3rd.6th, 8th and 9th. become monster holes, a rare treat if you can fit it in. Staff all very friendly, cant wait to go back.

Date of experience: November 2012
1  Thank BigMalcBedsU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal West Norfolk Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Royal West Norfolk Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing