We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Get Away”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very well presented hotel.
My Wife and I had club lounge access which entitles you to complimentary canapes and drinks (wine was actually quite nice for free). Alcohol is only available from 6pm and when we arrived at 6.15pm it was full and had to stand with our drinks whilst waiting for a table, very small room.
The hotel has free 30 minute WiFi, but the bedroom didn't have a WiFi signal, so could be frustrating for a business traveler.
The room was nice and clean, TV is dated, wasn't flat screen.
Breakfast was delicious, full English buffet style and continental was also available.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow , we value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us, and had the opportunity to access ourexclusive Club Lounge access that is available to Priority Club members. Please be assured that your comments regarding the WiFi connection in the bedroom have been discussed with the management team along with the rest of your feedback.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Marlow in the near future.

Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    612
    239
    86
    70
See reviews for
369
515
36
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed again at the hotel 17th/18th February; it was an extremely busy weekend for the hotel.

Given an upgrade to an executive room as we are Priority Club members; most appreciated and a superb room.

Told them it was the wifes birthday on 17th and was greeted with some super chocolates in the room; very kind of the manager.

As always, our stay was trouble free and all the staff were great.

We always use this hotel when staying in the area; don't think we could do better.

It always a good idea to book as early as possible to get a really good price.

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club and book early to get a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandAli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow, we value your comments as they help us to improve our services and to maintain the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that your stay with us was such a success and your wife had a wonderful Birthday weekend. It is always a pleasure to know that we have been able to add something special to our guests’ stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Marlow in the near future.

Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

First of all, I accept that hotels will deterioirate to the point at which they are refurbished - simple wear and tear. However, I have been using this hotel occasionally for a number of years now, and this is the first time I have noticed a deterioritation in quality. Sadly, I have a feeling that the drop in quality includes the service and attention to detail as well as the fabric of the hotel, and that is more disappointing. My room was definately showing its age; if you can see past the appaling, dated TV system and lack of in-room wireless, most notable was the tear in the quilt cover, the power socket loose on the wall, the broken drawer, the wobbly desk, the magnetic drawer catches that don't, loose fittings in the shower and sink and most disappointly massively failed pillows (fibre filled pillows deteriorate over time to a point at which the fibre forms into uncomfortable balls - this had happened to every pillow in our two rooms). Also, the mattress was very disappointing for this standard of hotel. Other signs were visible in the public area too, including lifting carpet and loose and failed lights. Even the shower gel in the spa was empty. I also felt that the mini-bar is now stocked poorly and the towel supplies had dwindled. Both room service orders had problems; one was completely the wrong dish, and neither delivery had sufficient cutlery and napkins for the number of ordered dishes, all adding up to suggest the hotel is either not as well managed as it has previously been, or perhaps cuts are being made in these difficult times. Cut too much and it becomes a Holiday Inn with a smart reception. When you next refit your hotel, please drag your TV system into the current century and perhaps you should take a leaf from Marriott's book when it comes to matresses and pillows ? I have to say I still enjoyed my stay - it was also very good value with a great book ahead rate - and I still like the venue, but I am now very aware that it may not be the hotel that it once was....

Room Tip: I have not noticed a difference, having stayed in both wings and on both floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow, we value your comments as they help us to improve our services and to maintain the very high standards our guests expect.

I would like to extend my immediate apologies that your stay with us was marred by certain factors, we always like to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is clear that on this occasion we were not entirely successful. Please be assured that your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary steps to ensure that they do not occur in the future.

In respect to your comments, we do endeavour to maintain a high level of maintenance throughout the hotel and this includes both the public areas and the bedrooms. I thank you for bringing to my attention that there are certain areas that need attention and will ensure that our Maintenance Team will complete the necessary work to maintain the standards that are appropriate to a Crowne Plaza Hotel. It is with great pleasure that I can assure you that all the old CRT televisions are being replaced with new flat screens, I hope that you will return to the Hotel to experience this.

In regard to your experience with Room Service, I am extremely sorry this occurred and apologise for the inconvenience that this must have caused. I can assure you that the matter has been investigated to ensure that it does not occur again.

Please be assured that we value your feedback and have taken note of the areas you have highlighted, I hope that I can look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.


Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent U.K
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We are only stayed here for one night to meet up with an old friend but would happily have stayed longer. Our room on the second floor was quiet, spacious and clean with lots of pillows and cushions to make it comfy The bathroom was lovely with a separate shower cubicle and a bath, magnifying mirror and a selection of nice quality toiletries and a note inviting you to request any forgotten items (complimentary) We ate in the restaurant and the food on the whole was nice but not the best I've eaten and it could have been hotter. It was a bit pricey and had a 12% service charge already added which I don't ever approve of, but the staff were efficient and friendly.All in all a this hotel made a good impression and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in room 237, it overlooked the car park but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharomaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for spending taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and to maintain the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the hotel for a longer visit in the near future.

Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Good location in its own grounds,lake.Spa too. Booked to attend wedding near by on some 'deal' small print,No Breakfast,so check if you booking on this, as they don't reply to emails. Phone option is long customer satisfaction message at 10p p/min. Breakfast is £12.50, its good, plenty to choose from,but if you thought £65.00 pp pn In January would get you breakfast, your mistaken. Bar is open late,which is handy but £6.00 for G&T isn't so good. Staff professional and responsive . Strolling down to Marlow spotted Premier Inn close to the river,maybe a option to get away from over priced cab rides.Without a car the walk into town isn't exactly the leafy side of Marlow.

Rooms are as expected,large clean ,olde worlde CRT telly though.And only one bathrobe; take turns in using it?
Ordered a cab for the 3.5 miles journey ( a black cab) £15.00! Driver claimed it was Marlow rate, and £28.00 return as it was 'after midnight'..Crikey. Living in central London,as we do i would have felt ripped off.Maybe they have a tie in with the hotel chain? Worth trying alternative firms,me thinks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and to maintain the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to use our wide range of facilities, including the Quad Club Health Spa. Thank you for your comments on how we can improve the certain areas such as the room facilities, please be assured that 2012 will see the installation of flat screenTVs throughout the hotel bedroms.

I would like to apologise that prior to your stay we did not return any of your email queries - we pride ourselves on our excellent guest relations and it is unusual for us not to respond to any questions that are sentn to us, this matter will be fully investigated to ensure that it does not happen again.

In respect to your comments regarding the taxi service, I would like to assure you that although the hotel does recommend certain local firms we unfortunatly have no control over the charges, this is done at there own descretion.

I know there are different choices when it comes to accomodation in Marlow but I do hope you will keep using Crowne Plaza as your preferred hotel and I hope that I can look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
1.5 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
5.4 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
11.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
967 reviews
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
17.6 km away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
Address: The Old Race Course Fieldhouse Lane, Marlow SL7 1GJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,241 - ₹ 20,118
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning lakeside location of this luxury hotel in Marlow, Buckinghamshire, set in 5 acres of beautiful countryside, makes it an ideally place for your meeting and conference. Crowne Plaza Marlow offers 168 contemporary bedrooms including stylish Standard rooms, King Rooms, Executive Club rooms and Luxury Suites. Every detail has been designed to create a highly modern environment different from any other hotel in the Thames Valley area placing it amongst the best places to stay in Marlow. Crowne Plaza Marlow is ideal for events such as training, seminars, product launches, boardroom meetings, interviews, teambuilding and brainstorming events as well as small exhibitions. All meeting rooms offer everything you would expect from a luxurious and contemporary hotel with a dedicated Conference Manager to make your event a success, offering: Experience excellent food and wine in Crowne Plaza Marlow’s stylish Glaze Restaurant, awarded an AA Rosette for culinary excellence, or relax with lighter bites and a delicious cocktail in our Agua Café & Bar. Whether you’re looking for an intimate dining experience for two, or simply meeting with friends for drinks, Crowne Plaza Marlow is the perfect venue for you. Crowne Plaza Marlow is situated in the heart of the Thames Valley and Chiltern Hills on the border of Buckinghamshire & Berkshire. Easily accessible from the M4, M25 & M40 motorways via the A404, the hotel is located within half an hour drive from Oxford, Reading, Windsor and Henley-on-Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Marlow
Marlow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing