We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B in a great location”
Review of 10 Lock Road

10 Lock Road
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
10 Lock Road
Ranked #10 of 21 Marlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2017

A small B&B in a residential street, it’s ideally located being just a couple of minutes’ walk from both the High Street and the river. You really get the feeling that you’re staying in someone’s house here – which of course is exactly what you are doing. There is, I think, just one double en-suite room with one or two singles. This was located at the back of the house, and the en-suite was built in to the corner of the room, so it wasn’t massive but worked well enough. The room was clean and tidy and offered the usual facilities such as tea and coffee making facilities with a small jug of fresh milk which was a nice touch, as well as a small jar of biscuits. The shower was perhaps a little on the feeble side – plenty of water came out, but with very little pressure behind it, but everything else was fine. It was also a pleasant change to get plenty of mirrors and good lighting – something that many top hotels seem to lack, never mind a small B&B. Being in a house there was also less soundproofing that you might get in a hotel. We could hear somebody snoring in the next room and the floorboards creaked whenever they moved around.

Breakfast was served in a room overlooking the garden and consisted of a choice of cooked items such as a full English, cereals, a fruit bowl and plain yoghurt. There wasn’t the choice that you get in some places, but then given the size of the establishment, that’s not really surprising. Everything we had was decent enough and well cooked though. Sometimes the choice did feel a little restricted, such as only brown toast for example. There is also an assumption made that you want the same thing each day, so if you do want something different than the day before, make sure you ask.

The hosts were very friendly, and, although I hesitate to say this, perhaps too friendly at times. It’s down to the individual I suppose and how gregarious you are, but personally I think it’s nice sometimes to just be able to slip in to your room rather than being accosted in the hallway when you get in, almost as though they’ve been waiting for you. Overall though, this was a decent establishment in a great location, and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017

Stayed two nights. Guesthouse was beautiful, spotlessly clean, spacious room with beautiful ensuite. Breakfast was very good. Ian and Zofia were very welcoming and friendly. Nothing too much trouble.On site parking. Would stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I recently stayed here for two nights. Zofia and Ian were very welcoming.
Had a lovely breakfast, all freashly cooked.
Very clean room with on-suite.
Nothing was too much trouble.
I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank createshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with my father in law for a family wedding.
What can I say.......it was fantastic. Welcoming,friendly hosts,spotlessly clean and very comfy accommodation.
The breakfast was to die for all freshly cooked and piping hot.
If you need somewhere near to the centre of Marlow,you'd be stupid not to try 10 Lock Road.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sandcking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights to attend a family wedding. Very comfortable bed and room, quiet location as room looked out onto gardens. Pleasant walk away from town centre and to river. Lovely breakfasts. Welcoming friendly couple.

Room Tip: Double room has en suite and looks over gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizjweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlow hotels
4.4 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
0.5 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
0.6 km away
Glade End Guest House
Glade End Guest House
#3 of 21 in Marlow
542 reviews
0.7 km away
Herons Nest Marlow
Herons Nest Marlow
#2 of 21 in Marlow
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Lock Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Lock Road

Address: 10 Lock Road, Marlow SL7 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Marlow
Price Range: ₹ 5,413 - ₹ 5,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We run a quiet, comfortable B&B close to the centre of Marlow, the station and the River Thames. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
10 Lock Road Marlow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing