We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent holiday”
Review of Hotel Riu Arecas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Arecas
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle on tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent holiday”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and myself have just arrived back from the riu arecas tenerife after spending a fantastic 2 weeks there. We had reservations about the hotel as it was our first holiday at a riu hotel, but as soon as we entered the hotel we knew we had made the right decision.
When we arrived at 11:30pm we were told to leave our suitcases at the reception as there was a cold buffet in the restaurant which was appreciated after a long flight.We were half board and the meals were absolutley brilliant, the choices catered for everyone and the presentation was amazing, there was such a variety of food we never repeated the same meal twice in the fortnight.
Our room was kept immaculate the rooms were cleaned every day, as was the rest of the hotel, there was air con and fans in each of the rooms, the staff were always polite and smiling, they were helpful and friendly to everyone they made you feel really welcome. Also the hotel is situated near a lovely promenade about 2 minutes away from the hotel ,and there is a fantastic shopping centre about 15 minutes walk from the hotel.
There were plenty of sunloungers for everyone, and clean beach towels were given out every day,the pool area was also kept to a high standardv of cleanliness by the maintaince pool staff every day.
We have no hesitation in recommending the riu arecas it was great value for money, excellent staff, excellent hotel.

bob and lynda

Room Tip: ask for what you want and it is usually granted, the hotel rooms are designed in such a way that mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    512
    123
    32
    20
See reviews for
197
922
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Had a lovely holiday at the Riu Arecas in Tenerife, our 4th stay in one of their Hotels and the second stay in this one. Staff always helpful and polite. Rooms kept very clean every day. Good variety of food. Though rooms have to be vacated by 11am a shower room was provided to change in as we were on an afternoon flight.
Well done RIU!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Satwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Just returned from a 7 day holiday here and had a great time.Weather was redhot and we had a lovely pool facing room giving us sun on our balcony all day . Meals were good with plenty of choice and all the staff were friendly . Listened to the entertainment on a couple of the evenings and it was fine, we went out the other nights and found a nice bar with singers on .we walked to las americas and los cristianos on a couple of occasions and its only a short walk to la calletta with its lovely harbour and some of the best fish restaurants on the island.Hoping to come back in a couple of weeks with my mother many thanks pepper x

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepperSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Riu Arecas at the end of March with our 2 year old daughter. We had requested a sea view room but were not given one as they said they hadn't seen our request (so worth contacting the hotel yourselves directly to confirm).

The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming and, although we arrived at 8pm, we were encouraged to go and have something to eat. Our waiter (Joaquin) was brilliant with our daughter and always made sure her high chair was in place and that she had a straw for her drink. Little touches that matter when you travel with a toddler. We originally booked the 8pm sitting but changed it to the 6pm sitting after two days with no trouble at all.

Perhaps due to the time of year there was mainly an older clientelle. Our daughter is thankfully well behaved so we didn't feel like we were annoying anyone by being there with a young child. There was the usual reserving of sunbeds but this happens in a lot of places. The room was a bit dated but there was lots of wardrobe space, large beds and a nice balcony. The in-room safe was €13 for the week to hire.

The food was good especially the roast meats and the salads. My only problem was the lack of queueing by other guests - they acted like the food was going to run out any second and like they hadn't eaten for a week! No respect for personal space. I found the food at the poolside bar very reasonable (€3.50 for hot dog and chips, €5 for burger and chips, €3 for coffee and a huge slice of cake).

There is a lovely walk along the sea front - you don't have to use the steps (there are lots!). If you go out of the front entrance of the hotel, turn right and go across the first road, you then come to a pathway (next to a large hotel, name escapes me) which is a steepish slope down to the promenade.

Worth a walk to La Caleta - nice, peaceful fishing village about a mile away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This hotel is perfect for a quiet break. Set up a hill from the seafront, so would probably be unsuitable for people with walking difficulties, and in a quiet area away from the usual hustle and bustle of the Americas. The hotel is quite small by international standards. The rooms are well furnished with balconies. We were given a room with a pool and garden view which was adequate for our needs. The hotel has two swimming pools and a kiddies pool and more than enough sun loungers for everybody and no reserving. Although the hotel does not have spa facilities guests are welcome to use the facilities at the sister hotel the Riu Palace. The food is excellent with enough choice for even the fussiest eater. You have a choice of early or late sittings for dinner and your table is reserved for the duration of the holiday. The hotel is classified as 4* and tour operators rate it 5*. I agree with the 5* rating based on the high level of attention given to guests by the excellent staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they make you feel so welcome. The age of clients is 40-70 so probably unsuitable for the younger crowd.Entertainment and daytime activities is low key, a definite plus as far as I am concerned. If you want to venture further afield the bus stops across the road from the hotel. We had a lovely break and would recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank elsie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adeje hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
0.3 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.0 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 km away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Arecas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Arecas

Property: Hotel Riu Arecas
Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#41 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,564 - ₹ 14,804
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Arecas 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2015 and reopened as an Adults Only hotel. Located on Costa de Adeje. 250 M from Playa del Duque beach (several steps lead to the beach). 1.5 Km from various shops. 22 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Arecas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Arecas Adeje
Riu Arecas Hotel Adeje
Hotel Riu Arecas Tenerife/Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing