We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
248
26
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
26
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed suite private pool starfish restaurant olivia restaurant washing machine and tumble smart tvs laundry room la caleta half board duplex villa the resort offers large sun terrace the room service menu adults only section hotel service the general manager amazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Beautiful new hotel, with stunning views and located in La Caleta, a peaceful fishing village on the outskirts of Costa Adeje. The suite was large and modern, equipped with all your daily needs, including washing machine and tumble drier.
Short walk or hotel buggy ride to the beach. Stroll into La Caleta for a drink or dine at one of several restaurants, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank phillh4boro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH_Corales_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Corales Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments about your visit to Royal Hideaway Corales Suites.

We are happy to read you did like the location or our hotel, La Caleta is undoubtedly a tranquil and charming place to spend some days of relax and to disconnect form the everyday routine. Thank you for your highlights on the suite we accommodated you, designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible and providing fabulous views to the ocean.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards,
Royal Concierge Department
Royal Hideaway Corales Resort*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This is a New hotel with very interesting architecture and good quality facilities and furnished rooms, The staff were excellent and service was very good. Great location for water park, airport and local restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH_Corales_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Corales Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Nigel,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Royal Hideaway Corales Suites.

We are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Greetings from Tenerife,

Royal Concierge Department
Royal Hideaway Corales Resort*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Hector was the most polite receptionist I ever met during one of my 20 trips to different hotels at the canary islands so far. He was professional, helpful and flexible in an extraordinary way. Additionally Mad was also one of the nicest doormen we ever met considering all our travels globally and the teams at restaurants Olivia & NAO were just super nice and attentive.

The build quality of our deluxe suite at this hotel was by far the highest build quality of any hotel room I've ever booked at the canary islands yet. Comparing this to any of the other 5 stars hotels I visited on the canary islands, this should be a 6 stars hotels - to put it simply.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH_Corales_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Corales Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018


Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at our Royal Hideaway Corales Suites.

Your praising words towards our staff are truly appreciated and will be forwarded to each of them you named personally. All the team strives to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests and your comments are a great source of motivation to keep on going that extra mile every day.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your holidays, we would be pleased to welcome you back and serve you again in the future.

Greetings from sunny Tenerife,
Royal Concierge Department
Royal Hideaway Corales Resort*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

A new hotel which is shaped like a ship the rooms are huge with beautiful 180 degree sea views breathtaking. we stayed in room 1102 which had a private pool which was heated in all i would recommend this hotel as it is truly beautiful and the location is also perfect siam park, loro park just 15 minutes drive. Airport is 30 minutes away and the drive is very easy, my only down side to my stay was that we were given the wrong room for the first 3 days of our stay when we complained they quickly moved us to the correct size room how ever no compensation was offered for our loss, they assumed we were happy because they moved us to a room which we paid for in the first place quite strange as it is truly a beautiful hotel and the staff are really friendly and nice, this issue could have easily been resolved by offering a meal or a spa experience which i dont think the hotel will lose anything but really would have grabbed our hearts strange.
All in all we had a wonderful stay tenerife is beautiful place.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank sarinm597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH_Corales_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Corales Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Royal Hideaway Corales Suites and for recommending us to the readers of TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read you did like the Villa Suite you mention in your review, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that we provide our guest with the accommodation as per the details of the reservation provided by our booking system or partners' reservation. For a future holiday planning we would like to kindly offer you to visit our website where you will find a thorough description of our hotels' rooms and facilities or contact our call center where our colleagues will be more than happy to help you with a personalized guidance to make sure you book the suite that best meets your holiday needs and wishes.

We are happy to read how much you liked the location of our resort and that you spent a wonderful holiday among us. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Tenerife, we are looking forward to welcoming you again the future.

Kind regards,

Royal Concierge Department
Royal Hideaway Corales Resort*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We stayed on a half board basis for a week, upon arrival we were welcomed by reception and details regarding the hotel offered. Our suite was 1211, two bedrooms with a private pool, the interior was excellent and very clean. On day two the toilet filled and didn’t clear, as it was in the evening my husband got his hands dirty and cleared it, the next day it repeated so we reported it to reception, we were in the room all afternoon and no one came. I popped to reception on our way to dinner, they told me it had been rectified at 4pm, I explained it wasn’t as we were there and hadn’t had anyone visit. This repeated another 2 times over 48 hours, by our penultimate day the room smelt of drains and the bath and toilet would bubble when we let water out of the sink. At no time were we offered to move rooms or compensation of any kind offered, when you are paying this much a night I would expect to stay in a room without plumbing troubles.

Secondly we ate in the restaurant by the family pool, we were the only table, a table we had chosen under the canopy in front of the chef. The General manager and another operations manager arrived and took a table next to us, the general manager then decided to smoke, we had two children eating with us, and I do not want to ate and taste someone’s smoke while I do. The restaurant put a lot of play on the food presentation and service, it was totally ruined by this and I left my food and took the baby away as I do not wish for him to breath cigarette smoke.

I chose this hotel mainly based on the smoking policy they convey of it being a non smoking hotel with dedicated areas allocated to smokers.

Lastly on our third evening my husband was refused entry to the family buffet restaurant as he was wearing a shirt with taylored shorts, however after explaining he didn’t have any trousers (he had jeans but surely they are less smart than taylored shorts) he was allowed to eat in the restaurant... we were one of 5 tables... one man was wearing stone wash jeans, a T shirt and trainers, another cargo trousers with flip flops, this continued for the rest of our stay. While I understand that trousers would be acceptable attire for the fine dining restaurants, non of which we could go to as they are for adults only, again I totally accept this.

Over all the hotel was beautiful, the interiors were on trend and some aspects were stunning, which is what you are paying for.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
8  Thank SunnySuff0lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH_Corales_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Corales Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

We regret reading that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us a perfect relaxing holiday. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

We sincerely lament your exceptional experience when reporting the issue about your room, there are absolutely no excuses for the situation. The entire reception team together with our maintenance department have been informed about your comments to avoid this kind of situation to reoccur in the future.

Even though we do empathize with you regarding the smoking policy, we would like to inform you that we must adhere to the Spanish law which entitles people to smoke anywhere outside on our hotels premises apart from children play areas and we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Please rest assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration to prevent any future inconveniences of this kind. With regards to our dress code policy, as described on our website, we require long trousers and closed shoes for gentlemen during the evening meals, as this is a standard requirement and was put in place to maintain a certain standard of class befitting of the service our guests receive from our waiters and waitresses whilst dining with us.

Furthermore, we would like to add that all our partner tour operators are aware of this policy and should be notifying our guests of this prior to their arrival at our hotels where they are also reminded of this requirement at check in. Nevertheless, we will forward your remarks to our restaurant team for revision and improve this aspect of our services.

On the other hand, we are happy to read that you did like our installations and the brand-new design suites with the fabulous sea view, and that you found it to be clean all times. Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness as our housekeeping team undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis.

Last but not least we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays, although we wish you had a better experience this time. We genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future.

Kindest regards,

Royal Concierge Department
Royal Hideaway Corales Resort*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews