We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote but nice”
Review of Hotel Dulce Nombre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dulce Nombre
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We stayed 2 nights at Dulce Nombre in late September The hotel ( really, more of a large motel) is not easy to find, so be prepared. It is situated about 8-9 kilometers from the port town of Tarifa, Spain, and you will need your own transportation, or a cab. The hotel sits back from the road a considerable distance, off Carretera Cadiz-Malaga, off a dirt path. Our GPS was no help. However, once there, it is a surprisingly large complex. There are a number of rooms, many with an ocean view. There is also a large in ground swimming pool, and a large outdoor eating area with a bar. In the summer it must be an oasis of relaxation, after a hot day of touring or traveling. There is an onsite restaurant.

The room we had was large, the bed fine, and the bathroom very modern and well equipped. Free Wi-Fi worked well in our room. Housekeeping standards are excellent, and we were pleased with the way the place is maintained. There is ample free parking on site. The young woman who works afternoons was most helpful, with arranging some things for us. No one speaks English, as far as we could tell, so a basic command of Spanish will make your stay a good deal more enjoyable.

Drawbacks are the distance from Tarifa, and the restaurant. We did not have the breakfast, but the dinner menu is very expensive by both Spanish and Portuguese standards. This appears to be the "captive audience" syndrome: as there are no other dining options anywhere nearby. If you have dinner at the hotel restaurant, expect to pay half again or more as much as you'd pay for a similar meal in the town of Tarifa We had one dinner at the hotel,( nothing to write home about...), after that we ate in town, where there are a tremendous number of great dining options.

There is also no elevator, but the hotel is only two stories and all rooms open on to an outdoor wrap around walkway. The young woman was happy to help with our luggage, and also assisted us with a better room with a view, after the first room we were shown faced the back of the property, and we expressed our displeasure.

Very quiet spot, peaceful in late September when there were relatively few guests. If you have your own transportation, want to be away from town, and don't mind paying artificially high prices for dinner, this place is for you. We'd recommend Dulce Nombre, if you want to be near, but not directly in Tarifa. But dine in town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view. We were in # 15, 2nd floor, and you could see the coast of North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Timoteo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2015

Good value for money. Close to Tarifa, the beaches, and the main highway - but located far back enough to be quiet and relaxing. Walking distance to a trendy open air bar that closes around midnight.

I stayed in one of their apartments - which looked very similar to their hotel rooms, but with an additional kitchen. The bed seemed new and quite firm, which suited me fine. The facilities were very clean and in good condition. The pool was very nice, surrounded by trees. There's a rooftop where there's yoga as the sun sets. In general it's very pretty, and I felt very comfortable.

The staff were friendly, but quite reserved - they don't speak much English, so don't expect 5-star smiles and constant 'can I help you sir' service - but they will absolutely help you if you ask politely.

The breakfast was delicious and plentiful - cheese, croissants, bread, fresh orange juice, excellent coffee, ham slices, boiled eggs, watermelon, honey melon, cereal - a great start to the day, (though from personal taste, I wouldn't have minded a slice of tomato and cucumber as well).

Overall, this is a great value 3-star hotel - I'd happily return.

Note that you'll need a car to get around.

One other thing: although they charged me the agreed Euro price, the card machine they used converted it to UK sterling with a cheeky 4% mark-up. The hotel doesn't pocket any of that extra cost though - it goes to the bank, who are responsible.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elliot-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Turned up, looked fine. When we got to the room it was basic, albeit that we knew we had one of the better ones. The view was spectacular though so we didn't mind. Breakfast was basic but the terrace we ate on each morning was pretty. We didn't have any interaction with the owners so can't really comment on that but the room was cleaned each day and it was quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. Wanted to stay at Tres Mares or Copacobana but they were booked up.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kiran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifsTarifa, Gerente at Hotel Dulce Nombre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015
Google Translation

Hello Kiran ,first thank staying at our hotel, and yes, very good to come to our hotel.A sometimes if we have a superior room and we will not rent, we offer it at the same price.

Greetings and hope to see you soon

Hola Kiran Primero agradecer su estancia en nuestro hotel ,y sí , acertasteis muy bien al venir a nuestro hotel.A veces si tenemos una habitación superior y no lo vamos a alquilar , se la ofrecemos al mismo precio .

Saludos y espero vernos pronto
J. Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Loved this family run hotel. Located off the beach away from the main road but only 10 minutes walk to the best Kite Surfing beach in Tarifa where you'll find an amazing beach bar and restaurant (valdevaqueros). The hotel has a lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The food at the hotel is excellent. All fresh and tasty. Breakfast was perfect for us as we don't really like the American / English buffet style. There were many lovely cold meats with a bread selection / cakes. Enough for us and worth the very cheap price. Our room was very big with a lovely balcony. Next time we'd like to take an apartment so we can cook lunch / dinner in the evening occasionaly. The family are lovely, 4 brothers (we think) - they made us laugh.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms or an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed there this week-end because we were looking for a not too expensive place near Tarifa. It turned out great. Sure the staff/owner is not your standard hotel staff meeting you with a smile and 'how do you do?' but he was genuinely nice and helpful. It is well located if you are looking to be close to Tarifa and the beach area, very clean and very cosy. The bathrooms were new and gleaming (which is not always the case in that kind of hotel), the pool is clean and attractive. Overall it has a great feeling and gave us that feeling of being away and on vacation which we really were looking for. So cheap and cheerful and certainly recommended if you are looking for decent and accomodation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
1.8 km away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
321 reviews
3 km away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
406 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Punta Sur
Hotel Punta Sur
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
493 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
8.6 km away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dulce Nombre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dulce Nombre

Address: Carretera Cadiz-Malaga Km 76, Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tarifa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tarifa
Price Range: ₹ 5,509 - ₹ 14,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dulce Nombre 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dulce Nombre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dulce Nombre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing