We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
48
39
17
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
39
17
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Good value for money. Close to Tarifa, the beaches, and the main highway - but located far back enough to be quiet and relaxing. Walking distance to a trendy open air bar that closes around midnight.

I stayed in one of their apartments - which looked very similar to their hotel rooms, but with an additional kitchen. The bed seemed new and quite firm, which suited me fine. The facilities were very clean and in good condition. The pool was very nice, surrounded by trees. There's a rooftop where there's yoga as the sun sets. In general it's very pretty, and I felt very comfortable.

The staff were friendly, but quite reserved - they don't speak much English, so don't expect 5-star smiles and constant 'can I help you sir' service - but they will absolutely help you if you ask politely.

The breakfast was delicious and plentiful - cheese, croissants, bread, fresh orange juice, excellent coffee, ham slices, boiled eggs, watermelon, honey melon, cereal - a great start to the day, (though from personal taste, I wouldn't have minded a slice of tomato and cucumber as well).

Overall, this is a great value 3-star hotel - I'd happily return.

Note that you'll need a car to get around.

One other thing: although they charged me the agreed Euro price, the card machine they used converted it to UK sterling with a cheeky 4% mark-up. The hotel doesn't pocket any of that extra cost though - it goes to the bank, who are responsible.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elliot-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Turned up, looked fine. When we got to the room it was basic, albeit that we knew we had one of the better ones. The view was spectacular though so we didn't mind. Breakfast was basic but the terrace we ate on each morning was pretty. We didn't have any interaction with the owners so can't really comment on that but the room was cleaned each day and it was quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. Wanted to stay at Tres Mares or Copacobana but they were booked up.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kiran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifsTarifa, Gerente at Hotel Dulce Nombre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015
Google Translation

Hello Kiran ,first thank staying at our hotel, and yes, very good to come to our hotel.A sometimes if we have a superior room and we will not rent, we offer it at the same price.

Greetings and hope to see you soon

Hola Kiran Primero agradecer su estancia en nuestro hotel ,y sí , acertasteis muy bien al venir a nuestro hotel.A veces si tenemos una habitación superior y no lo vamos a alquilar , se la ofrecemos al mismo precio .

Saludos y espero vernos pronto
J. Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Loved this family run hotel. Located off the beach away from the main road but only 10 minutes walk to the best Kite Surfing beach in Tarifa where you'll find an amazing beach bar and restaurant (valdevaqueros). The hotel has a lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The food at the hotel is excellent. All fresh and tasty. Breakfast was perfect for us as we don't really like the American / English buffet style. There were many lovely cold meats with a bread selection / cakes. Enough for us and worth the very cheap price. Our room was very big with a lovely balcony. Next time we'd like to take an apartment so we can cook lunch / dinner in the evening occasionaly. The family are lovely, 4 brothers (we think) - they made us laugh.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms or an apartment.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed there this week-end because we were looking for a not too expensive place near Tarifa. It turned out great. Sure the staff/owner is not your standard hotel staff meeting you with a smile and 'how do you do?' but he was genuinely nice and helpful. It is well located if you are looking to be close to Tarifa and the beach area, very clean and very cosy. The bathrooms were new and gleaming (which is not always the case in that kind of hotel), the pool is clean and attractive. Overall it has a great feeling and gave us that feeling of being away and on vacation which we really were looking for. So cheap and cheerful and certainly recommended if you are looking for decent and accomodation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is a pleasant enough hotel, clean, tidy, fairly well situated but the owners are the most miserable bunch I have ever met in my life. I felt like I was causing an inconvenience by staying. And it was not just on one occasion, as I had to stay there again, purely because everwhere else was full. Prices are too high for what you get, Copacabana near by much more reasonable and much more friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PartyHardLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifsTarifa, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dulce Nombre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Regarding the review of this man "anonymous"
first we do not know if they really stay here, I do not think so.
as first indicated that all very well and is not the first time.
If not the first time ...... that makes you ...
My reasons are that this man may be giving a false opinion.
You always know the prices and what is included in the price.
It is very easy to criticize and publicize other. Perhaps the
Hotel Dulce Nombre can be expensive, but really other hotels
who think they are cheaper, the end result they are much more expensive,
since it does not offer the same services.

attentively
Ignacio f.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews