We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,171)
Filter reviews
1,171 results
Traveller rating
557
409
134
43
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
409
134
43
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room santa catalina public areas medieval castle spectacular views superior room hill overlooking the city four poster bed perched high suits of armour sun loungers fantastic location unique experience worth a visit arab baths large balcony lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,171 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

I have stayed in over 40 Paradores in the last 9 years and would never revisit this one , not for the parador itself which is magnificent with great views and is very comfortable but the service and staff are well below average
We booked the restaurant for an evening meal and arrived on time , we waited 5 mins to be seated and another 15 for the waiter to take our order ! Then waited another 25 mins for our drinks to arrive . They then proceeded to send the wrong food to our table, I hope this doesn’t sound like sour grapes but the experience was terrible, it seems to me that this is a poorly managed hotel with dowdy staff who have no idea of customer service , I will not return and advise others not to as well , if you do take a taxi ride into town and eat there , it can’t be worse !! . To the Paradores take note , customers are important and maybe you should train your staff to realise that !!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank billrothera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento R, Manager at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Mr. Billrothera,

Thank you for your comments, which transfer to the corresponding departments. I am very sorry for your experience, I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again to improve your expectations.

Kind regards.
Javier Manzano, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Nice quite relaxing but with these money I'm expecting more...
Our room was small. The king size bed that we had booked was small too.
The breakfast was good but again in this price I'm waiting something special. This breakfast you can find in any good hotel but in half Price. The restaurant impressive. The food nice with unique tastes. The prices a little expensive.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lucky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento R, Manager at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Mr,/Mrs. Lucky,
Thank you for your comments, which help us to improve. We inform you that next July the Parador closes for a while to carry out remodeling works in the rooms and other places of the Parador. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us once finished.
Kind regards.
Javier Manzano, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

As you drive ever upwards to this Disney Castle, the excitement mounts. The views don’t disappoint. They are breathtaking. All bedrooms have a balcony with spectacular views of misty mountains and deep valleys. We were housed in a standard room but with the added bonus of a large sun terrace - even though temperatures were in single figures, it was solarium hot and allowed us to sit out for a couple of hours reading and enjoying ice cold beers - compliments of the Amigos Paradores scheme. Take time to walk the ramparts. The restaurant serves the usual Parador fare - not particularly inventive but well cooked and served with care. The dining room is enormous and in the season has the potential to open out on the wonderful terrace - I imagine it is absolutely packed in the season, so booking would be essential.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Portcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento R, General Manager at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you very much for your words, if for you your stay was a pleasure, for us it is a pleasure that you are lodged by us. Thank you very much for everything

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We stayed here two nights in January. The castle aspect was somewhat fun, but our (standard) room was definitely rather dated. Great views. I suspect that in warmer weather the pool would be nice, but not for January.

The adjacent castle was interesting to visit, and the city has some points of interest as well, but you would want to be a serious hiker to hike down to the city and back.

Breakfast was quite extensive and well prepared, and service was quite good as well.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curmudgeon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento R, Manager at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about Parador de Jaén.

Many customers will appreciate your kind review.

We invite you to return in the future, Parador will be renovated and for sure the small inconveniences will be solved in the future.

Best Regards
Javier Manzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and cannot fault the hotel, from location to the Staff
well worth a few days break fab!
The rooms are a good size with a choice of pillows, which we find very useful.
The breakfast is superb, a lot of choice of fresh fruit, cooked food, cold meats, toasted bread, croissant, Churros etc etc.
Evening food was great, the Christmas Eve dinner could not be faulted. We could not finish as there was to much food for us! Good choice of wines as well.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento R, Reception at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018


Dear Guest
We appreciate your comments, and we are glad to know that I enjoy the menu prepared by our colleagues in the restoration department,

Best regards
Carlos Jaras.-Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews