We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
552
401
133
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
401
133
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomsanta catalinapublic areasmedieval castlespectacular viewssuperior roomhill overlooking the cityfour poster bedperched highsuits of armoursun loungersfantastic locationunique experienceworth a visitarab bathslarge balconylounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. The building itself is wonderful and imposing. It is set on a hill high up above Jaen with great views over the city. The reception staff were not very welcoming and talked amongst themselves while ignoring the customer at the desk. The rooms were large and had a nice balcony overlooking the countryside. The rooms were very clean but need updating the furniture was worn. The swimming pool are was lovely and a nice large pool. The communal areas of the hotel were nice and quiet but could be so much better laid out and furnished. I don't think it deserves 4 stars just 3. This is because the staff were not great or helpful with information and there is a lovely terrace area to the rear of reception that would be a great bar/ restaurant dining option but it was not used at all. Does remind you that they are government run so all a bit run down with poor staff

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Tris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear Mr. :


Dear Tris,

Parador de Turismo Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs.

We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us.

We will try to improve about the aspects that you have refered.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon in the Parador.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We had been to two locations in Spain on this holiday and we wanted a few days relaxing in a hotel with a pool and we got that and much more. We got a really good half board deal and had lovely breakfasts and two magnificent meals. The person in the restaurant spoke little English but he was amazing and encouraged us the second night to have one of the special menus and we were delighted we did and we didn't find it expensive at all.
We love these type of Paradores, the relaxing atmosphere in particular, sometimes you would think there was no-one else there.
Our balcony had a lovely view and we were treated to a beautiful sunset.
The pool was brilliant after a day travelling, just quiet and relaxing.
I always recommend Paradores and this was was worth a visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the right hand side of the corridor to get a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2015

Dear ToniF28,

Parador de Turismo Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs.
We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative,.Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon in the Parador.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Paradors in Spain have undertaken a repositioning re categorising their properties into "types" of hotels according to their prime focus. The Jaén parador is an "Esentia" or historic building parador.

The position on the hill in the centre of Jaén is amazing with views all around. The style is of a medieval castle with huge ceilings, suits of armour and tapestries abound. A quiet and restful establishment that has the required bar and an impressive restaurant. The pool, although it is at the far end of the building, is huge and well supplied with loungers and changing rooms. Personnel are friendly and helpful.

Our only criticism is that the rooms (at least ours) was quite small? It has a double 2.5m bed which reception questioned if we would find big enough (we are only in the 70kg category).
The room had access to an outside terrace with a table and chairs. TV and writing desk completed the offering but the bathroom probably is due for a refurbish, eg grouting was needed in a few places. So, the bathroom was not up to the Parador's usual standard. Air conditioning was fine and multi channel TV supplied.
The breakfast was also very good.
PS Lerma was the best Parador for us so far and it set the standard.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidRRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Dir/Madam;

Thanks for leave your opinion. We use it to improve our facilities

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Expensive in both lodging and food, but a truely fabulous place to stay. The views are amazing. There is an additional small fee to visit the main fortess, but well worth the effort. In fact its a must !
Food quality good and well served. Head waiter was very knowledgable on the wines offered. Like i said, its not cheap, but the location and decoration make it all a great expierence

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nobinomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2015

Dear Sir:

thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

Your suggestions help us to improve

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

After traveling for almost 2 weeks we decided to treat ourselves to a special night in a Paradore. This hotel was more expensive than the previous two Paradores we had stayed in but our expectation was, it was going to be special.

The reception staff were coldly efficient. Our room was so disappointing. No view, tiny window. The bathroom was obviously an original from the 1960's . The door handle area dirty. We asked for a different room and told very curtly, they were full. Okay , high season and we had only booked the day before. So, let's go for a drink. I asked for a Mojitos. Again, very abruptly we were told "no cocktails " . I was stunned. Beer or wine was the offer and usual gin etc. The waiter appeared annoyed and my wine wasn't cold.

I asked for a soft pillow. I do try in Spanish but couldn't find the word for feathers. It must have looked funny as I clucked and cavorted . But, I got a softer pillow, not down.
Dinner? Expensive. My meal was very nice but my husband ordered the chicken and it was 2 tiny drumsticks with a spoonful of wheat!
The dining-room was empty and we were put next to the wine cabinet and as folks arrived our table and chairs bumped each time a wine was needed.
.
Breakfast: okay, but again the wait staff surly and kept disappearing.
All the staff need retraining or firing except for the lovely room maid.
I wrote my comments on the 'comments' page. I was contacted and told I should have asked for a pillow and they looked forward to seeing my post on Trip Advisor and Bookings dot com, even though I'd listed all my complaints. Hopefully they will up their game!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Madam,

First of all, we want to thank you for leaving all your impressions about the Parador. We are very sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay. It was impossible for us to give you a room with balcony and views because we were almost fully booked for that date and, as you mentioned in the above, the reservation was made on the same date.
We thank all the suggestions you could provide us and we will try to do our best to incorporate your comments in an ever better service.

Thanks a lot and kindly regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews