We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 82
US$ 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 89
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
523
391
131
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
391
131
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomsanta catalinapublic areasmedieval castlespectacular viewshill overlooking the citysuperior roomperched highsuits of armoursun loungersfour poster bedfantastic locationunique experienceworth a visitarab bathslarge balconylounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Expensive in both lodging and food, but a truely fabulous place to stay. The views are amazing. There is an additional small fee to visit the main fortess, but well worth the effort. In fact its a must !
Food quality good and well served. Head waiter was very knowledgable on the wines offered. Like i said, its not cheap, but the location and decoration make it all a great expierence

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nobinomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2015

Dear Sir:

thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

Your suggestions help us to improve

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

After traveling for almost 2 weeks we decided to treat ourselves to a special night in a Paradore. This hotel was more expensive than the previous two Paradores we had stayed in but our expectation was, it was going to be special.

The reception staff were coldly efficient. Our room was so disappointing. No view, tiny window. The bathroom was obviously an original from the 1960's . The door handle area dirty. We asked for a different room and told very curtly, they were full. Okay , high season and we had only booked the day before. So, let's go for a drink. I asked for a Mojitos. Again, very abruptly we were told "no cocktails " . I was stunned. Beer or wine was the offer and usual gin etc. The waiter appeared annoyed and my wine wasn't cold.

I asked for a soft pillow. I do try in Spanish but couldn't find the word for feathers. It must have looked funny as I clucked and cavorted . But, I got a softer pillow, not down.
Dinner? Expensive. My meal was very nice but my husband ordered the chicken and it was 2 tiny drumsticks with a spoonful of wheat!
The dining-room was empty and we were put next to the wine cabinet and as folks arrived our table and chairs bumped each time a wine was needed.
.
Breakfast: okay, but again the wait staff surly and kept disappearing.
All the staff need retraining or firing except for the lovely room maid.
I wrote my comments on the 'comments' page. I was contacted and told I should have asked for a pillow and they looked forward to seeing my post on Trip Advisor and Bookings dot com, even though I'd listed all my complaints. Hopefully they will up their game!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Madam,

First of all, we want to thank you for leaving all your impressions about the Parador. We are very sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay. It was impossible for us to give you a room with balcony and views because we were almost fully booked for that date and, as you mentioned in the above, the reservation was made on the same date.
We thank all the suggestions you could provide us and we will try to do our best to incorporate your comments in an ever better service.

Thanks a lot and kindly regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We had visited this parador previously in 2004 and thought it was amazing. The parador looks majestic located on top of a high hill overlooking the lovely town of Jaen. It is a spectacular building both inside and out. It was very easy to park just outside the hotel. Staff are really helpful and one of the memories we had from our previous visit to this parador was that staff would always go that bit further to ensure that their visitors had an exceptional stay.
Our room had a fantastic spacious bathroom and the beds were very comfortable with lovely crisp sheets. However, ventilation in our room could have been better as the first thing that we noticed on opening the door to our room was an unpleasant , lingering smell.
Our balcony had lovely views over the hillsides and swimming pool. Wi fi was free but only available in selected areas of the hotel e.g. tv room.
We received a lovely welcome pack-cherries and a bottle of still water which we thought was a nice touch.
Meals were amazing and our waiter Daniel also spoke great English which was very helpful!
During our stay some of the rooms were being redecorated and so some of the corridors were closed. We found that because of this the pool was very hard to reach as alternative directions had not been put in place. However, when we finally reached our destination we found a lovely swimming pool set in beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan1953528791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear Guest:

Thank so much for your opinion. Your comments and suggestions help us improve.

Have a nice day!!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Fabulous place. Perched on top of a hill overlooking Jaen!! Expensive though for one night stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Views from our room were incredible, we also had a wonderful terrace. Rooms very clean and nicely decorated with air-con and wifi. Huge bathroom! Lovely terrace bar downstairs overlooking the town of Jaen. Another terrace bar to the side and a fabulous set out restaurant. Cannot comment on the restaurant as did not eat there. Would certainly recommend it for the spectacular views and for being set within a Castle. You can drive to Jaen which has many bars, restaurants and shops. The old town is also worthy of a visit with it's narrow streets and historic places of interest.

Only negative was, we could not use the terrace in our room as there were too many wasps buzzing around.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Yours sincerely,

We thank you your suggestion left during your stay in our Parador.

We inform you that it will be included in our list of complaints and suggestions and will be treated directly by the management staff in order to look for solutions.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This paradore sits on a hill overlooking the town of Jaen which is known for its tapas bars, it is well worth walking around the town and absorbing the atmosphere.
The hotel is beautifully fitted out with some rooms having a balcony overlooking the surrounding hills, the dinning experience is very good.
The only downside was that when we arrived it was 31c and we were told that the swimming pool would not been opened until the 1st June, the management of the Paradores should realise that the comfort of its customers should be heard. As a member of Los Amigoes de Paradore I have spoken to many others who find it incredible that this rule still applies.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamerichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge C, Director General at Parador de Jaen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2015

Dear Sir

Teh Parador de Turismo of Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs.
We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon in the Parador.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews