We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Ronda 4

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ronda 4
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We booked a ten day holiday here for our family over Easter, two adults and two young teens. The apartments had been closed for 6 months for a refurb so we were hoping that place would be in good fettle although our expectations were not too high simply as this was a budget holiday. On arrival it became clear however that even though they were open for business, work was still going on. Regrettably our room had not been cleaned prior to arrival and there was a film of dust over all the surfaces which meant the first hour was spent cleaning. The rooms are spartan but have all that is necessary or rather they would have if it all worked as it should. Light bulbs needed replacing (they weren't) and the extractor fan in the bathroom (no window for ventilation) was non-functional which meant loads of steam and smells every morning with four of us using it. We also paid extra for a "superior" room with aircon. Sadly it was not functional and had no controllers. The room had a nice LCD tv with about 4 English speaking channels and controllers for this could be rented from the concierge for €10. We didn't bother and read books instead and the kids used their iPods. The swimming pool is a good size and at the time we visited there was no problem getting hold of sunbeds but I can imagine this would be an issue during peak season as there were only about a dozen available. Our kids were the only ones nutty enough to use the pool as it was still pretty chilly when we visited. The biggest problem we encountered was that the heating in the room was not working. Or rather it only worked if we moaned about it. It was early April when we visited and warm by comparison to the UK during the day. At night however it dropped to around 9 or 10 degrees. There was a radiator in the room but on our first night it was not working and the amount of bed linen provided meant a cold and uncomfortable night for us all. The folowing evening it was still not working and we had to take issue with the concierge staff three times before any action was taken. Eventually the heating was turned on and we settled down for a warm night only to find that at some time during the night it went off again even though the pump was left running. This meant another chilly night. We realised that we weren't going to get anywhere with this so just went to bed thereafter wearing extra layers of clothing.
Having spent loads of time in various French gites over the last decade, this experience in Spain came as a big disappointment. Los Boliches is pretty in places and the people are friendly. Having last been to Los Boliches 20 years ago it does now seem a bit tatty under the surface facade and the same could be said for Ronda 4. Yes the rooms have been redecorated but the place smacks of an old fashioned hotel which has been converted into self catering apartments on the cheap. The lack of cleanliness, attention to detail and unwillingness of the staff means that I can't recommend it. I can however recommend Paco's little shop which adjoins the hotel and also the Talk of the Town bar next door both of whom made us feel very welcome. Overall, our expectations were not high and it was just as well. Even so we were still disappointed with Ronda 4 - not so much about the quality of the accomodation (you get what you pay for) but with the lack of attention to basics such as cleanliness and functionality, and the disinterest on the part of the staff to get things right.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Blagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Ronda 4
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 478 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

LOVED these apartments, stayed with 4 other young adults age range 19-21, paid for a one bedroom apartment, once arrived and got given our key we got to our room & realised we had been given a 2 bedroom apartment, spacious and VERY clean. pool was great but beware of people putting towels on sunbeds about 7am! very childish and most of them didnt even lie on the beds, that was the only negative but we always managed to get a wee bed somewhere. went in August temps were mid 30s most days with one day hitting a whopping 42oC!! was super hot but always got a nice breeze and plenty of shadey areas for the guys! staff were all superb especially the little supermarket attached to the apartments, the people where so friendly and extremely courtious! restaurants all nice, talk of the town was nice for lunches and if you were wanting a cold beer or drink at night time, plus 10% off with your room key bonus!! Overall a fab holiday, plenty of bars & restaurants to choose from, shops within walking distance also, if your debating whether or not to book the holiday go for it! you won't be disappointed :D

Room Tip: only been once and stayed in the 2 bedroom room, but it was superb :D very spacious!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Espanalover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

stayed here with a friend on the 21st of June 2011 for a week. It was a clean hotel with helpful staff and a nice pool. However, we opted for a studio room which was tiny. I had to sleep on a couch while my friend slept on a matrass on the floor. There was no air-con which made the room EXTREMELY hot. This hotel is also a good 40 min walk from the nightlife. I would recommend the spacious one bedroom apartments to any family, However this is not a hotel for young people looking for nightlife!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hh0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed 8 nights in October Half term ideal for us and our two grandsons. Spacious two bedroomed appartment with sea view. Clean with comfortable furniture & four channels of English TV for when the kids had gone to bed. Good value we thought. Staff friendly & cafes/resteraunts nearby for breakfast.

The boys enjoyed it too. Pool was a bit cool but sea warm & just across the promenade.

Room Tip: Sea view at front.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YorkshireBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Arrived late to the hotel, staff were very helpful during our stay, room was basic and clean, also had sea views and a view of the pool, talk of the town bar was ok , just show them your key for Ronda and you will get 10% off food only. WiFi in Ronda was not any good, had to go to cheers bar to check WiFi. plenty of things to do in Fuengirola. so enjoy it. and make sure you take a travelling kettle with you from Argos. !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on pool side.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pdfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.6 km away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,023 reviews
3.7 km away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,013 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
626 reviews
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
2.2 km away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ronda 4? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ronda 4

Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 96, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: ₹ 2,791 - ₹ 7,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ronda 4 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Ronda 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ronda 4 Fuengirola
Ronda 4 Hotel Fuengirola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing