We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of La Casa Rustica

La Casa Rustica
Ranked #37 of 1,182 Restaurants in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Once again fantastic food and service from juan and staff.
Steaks can not be beaten
Lovely meal prior o Christmas lovely red wine.
Really friendly place.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2015

After a long day flying in from Britain, going up to Mijas for the fiestas and then travelling back down to reacquaint ourselves with Fuengirola, we were ready to eat. Our friends were unfamiliar with Andalucia so we wanted to find somewhere with a local ambiance and cuisine. The Casa Rustica more than meets the brief.

We ignored the appeals of competing waiters along the street and opted for this restaurant precisely because of the lack of hassle. The Calle Moncayo is pedestrianised, so diners have the choice of the pavement terrace, dining room or inner patio courtyard. We chose the latter and were well looked after.

The cuisine is typically Andalucian, well presented and good value. Although fairly busy when we visited, service was prompt and friendly. The staff have a fair command of English so no problem there. We remembered this street from previous visits. With a good selection of restaurants, the Casa Rustica more than holds its own.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank reynom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

The staff were very helpful, attentive and friendly, the food was good (not brilliant) but for the price it was well worth the visit. 3 courses for two people and a bottle of rose for 36 euro's - what's not to like ??

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

My self my husband and two friends Harry and Freada went for dinner here two weeks ago.Harry an Freada would come here regularly and recommended it to us while we were on holiday.The four of us went and were so impressed.The big surprise was there is a court yard in the middle of the restaurant which was amazing...with an open roof.I would like to say a huge thanks to two of the staff Rafi and Duaw who were so professional at their jobs.So helpful and pleasant.The food was amazing and we'll cooked and presented. It was only twelve euro for a lovely three course meal.Loads to choose from.We will be back in July.I would recommend this restaurant 100%.Thanks to Duaw and Rafi and all the staff for a lovely experience. Paul Linda Harry and Freada Dublin Ireland

Date of visit: October 2015
2  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Now I will start with a bit of history, ever since owning property in nearby Miraflores, about 10 years now, this has been our favourite family restaurant. It is quiet, has lovely decor and a covered inner sanctum and always serves great food.......so my partner and I were saddened by our last visit about 3 weeks ago.
Now `Fish Alley` in Fuengirola is a famous/infamous street, it crosses the main area of the town next to the beach road and has a huge and numerous and often daunting array of restaurants. All of whom are vying for your trade.
On this occasion the two of us we were not overly hungry but having strolled along Fish Alley we found our old friend, La Casa Rustica and the promise of good food and NO TV `s spouting English football in sight.
We chose from the 12 euro Menu del dia and shared a small carafe of house wine. It was early and quiet so expected a pleasant, relaxed meal.
Initially all was well but having ordered bread we waited 10 minutes before chasing it then having asked for a second time bread arrived 15 minutes later. We shared a Rustica Salad that appeared to have misplaced its advocado since we last ordered it in April !
Having ordered our mains, Fran was offered baked potatoe with her lamb and I ordered the special house Tuna.
The mains arrived and we tucked in. My tuna was soft and tasty but the `packet` frites were a bit of a joke...but the baked potatoe was horrendous. Soft, microwaved and full of cheap margerine. Now you have to go quite a way to get that kind of nastiness in Britain, totally unexpected at a decent Spanish restaurant !
We waited for a table check, but no one bothered, so we ate what we could and waited for a waiter to clear..
When we said the spud was not good he stared at us blankly and said it was good....er..Sorry ! No! Not good
Puddings came and the mousse was inedibly sweet and the portions small.
Again when cleared we said we were disappointed and again the blank shrug and eventually the comment that we were having the `cheap menu` ! At which point I was stunned.
Now there is no lack of choice in Fish Alley and when it is quiet you can request all sorts of food not on the menu del dia or see if they`ll throw in a bottle of wine but to be told that we were on the cheap menu so should put up with it was a disgrace.
I have always assumed that you will be treated differently if you are using an offer voucher or discount card but the menu del dia is part of eating out in Spain and if La Casa Rustica have such little respect for their customers who order from it then we are not coming back....There really are too many choices in Fuengirola to be stuck eating La Casa Rustica.
As I said before this has been our family choice for 10 years, maybe there has been a change of ownership maybe it was just one of those nights BUT we were ignored and made to feel like it was our fault.
COULD DO BETTER !

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andyrichards0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa Rustica also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing