We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
28
8
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
8
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We spent three days here in August. The apartment (La Higuera) was great, with a good kitchen and lovely comfortable bedrooms with really nice en-suite bathrooms. There were easy chairs in the kitchen - no separate living room which wasn't a problem at all as the garden was beautiful, with various places to sit amongst the vines and fig trees. Our teenagers loved the swimming pool which is a good size and deep enough to dive in which was a big bonus! There is a sun terrace above the swimming pool with views out over the olive groves, and plenty of sunbeds. Roger and Diana were really kind and friendly hosts; they seemed to really want us to get the most out of our stay and lent us maps and local knowledge so we had some great trips in our limited time. Although the weather was very hot, the lack of airconditioning was really not a problem at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ru24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Cortijo Los Abedules is in beautiful location, literally in the middle of an olive grove. Whilst not being in Cazorla itself,it's only about 10 minutes away by car and there's supermarket 5 minutes away, so it's in a good location.
We stayed in the appartment El Olivo, which is a really good size and right next to the pool. The appartment is well equipped, youve got every possible kitchen utensil there so you really don't need to bring anything from home. There isn't an oven but a good stove and microwave (with grilling option). It's really cosy, I went with my husband and two small boys and it did feel like a home from home.
The pool is really clean and a good size and the garden is really pretty almost like a mini botanical garden with a well.
Roger and Diana are really friendly and are always at hand if you need anything, but at the same time they really do respect your privacy.
We went in August which was perhaps a bit too hot, but the appartment is equipped with a ceiling fan and another fan in the bedroom, so it was bearable.
I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Nice and quite location, large and clean pool, good equipped kitchen and patio - garden.
Furniture a bit old-fashioned. no air-condition, but powerful fans.
Hosts very helpful, hopefully we have the opportunity to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Cortijo Los Abedules is a beautiful restored farmhouse with 3 appartments, a large garden, a very nice and big swimmingpool and a sunterrace. The appartment we rented was clean, good sized, had a good kitchen and bathroom and a comfortable bed.

The cortijo is just outside Cazorla and the Natural Park Cazorla, Segura y las Villas. The park is beautiful to visit and for walking. Historical towns (Ubeda, Baeza) are within easy distance. Nearby the cortijo is a large Mercadona supermarket.

The hosts, Roger and Diana Birch make you feel very welcome and they know a lot of the area, had suggestions for hiking etc. Visit the website of Cortijo Los Abedules, it gives you a lot of information.

We highly recommend this rural retreat!

Room Tip: visit the website of Cortijo Los Abedules
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noxdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I visited Cortijo Los Abedules in early June 2011, as part of pilot to see how feasible it would be to run Yoga holidays/retreats there. As such, we were part of a team, eating and drinking with Roger and Di, rather than being self-catering guests.
We arrived late at night, and very quickly felt completely at home. They'd left us out some snacks due to the late arrival time, and I was thrilled with the comfort and cleanliness of my room and en suite.

Everything about this trip was fantastic, from the hospitality of Roger and Di themselves, to the wonderful yoga sessions at dawn and dusk on the sun terrace, the walk in the national park where we were lucky enough to spot vultures and eagles. The food was excellent, the wine was flowing (for those who wanted it), and we ended a lovely few days with a trip into Carzola for a 'proper' Spanish night, eating tapas and watching the world go by.

I arrived a stressed out woman who feld the weight of the world was on her shoulders, and left 5 days later, in a blissed out state, feeling I could handle anything. I would strongly recommend Di's treatments as well, they totally helped me to focus on what's important at the moment.

To finalise, I can't thank Roger and Di enought for their hospitallity, and will do my very best to come to the next Yoga retreat a the end of September.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoopyLooRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews