We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
206
156
60
28
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
156
60
28
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course star hotel former convent olive groves vegetable garden junior suite cycling holiday room facing interesting building original features location is beautiful excellent restaurant magical place relaxing stay andalusian countryside hill overlooking late evening
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel looked stunning on paper and I thought it would make for a lovely romantic Valentine's treat for my wife and I. Indeed when we arrived after dark it looked beautiful even mythical standing out against the surrounding valleys and hills! The romance stopped there! We booked through booking.com and requsted a double bed (obviously!) and much to my dismay we were presented with 2 single beds in a freezing cold and somewhat dated room! No others were available we were told, "excellant start" I retorted! Never mind, being the fun and positive people that we are, we were going to make the most of it! Dinner beckoned, so we headed to the dining room, it is in the Michellin guide after all! Negatives first; poor lightning, far to hot (actually we needed to warm up from our room) and music nearly audible and the dining room is dated and drab! Positives; oh there isn't any! Anyway we were met by our gormless waiter who found us a table and left us there to admire the lack of decor! We asked him for the wine list, it was the first of 4 times asking but we got there eventually! On to the menu! 4 starters 4 main courses and 4 sweets! With such a small choice of dishes we were sure it was going to be spectacular! It wasn't! I am allergic to shellfish and hate fish! The only starter that didn't have fish in the title was a cold cream of tomato soup but after I had ordered it a fellow diners soup turned up with a huge prawn swimming around the surface! I asked the waitress if it would be possible to have said soup with a crustacean, she looked at me a little confused and headed to the kitchen! You could imagine my delight when I was presented with my cold soup with a chunk of refrigerated tuna floating around instead, genius!
Main courses! My wife had off oxtail with mash! She said it was rich and tasty but lukewarm, I had a piece of unseasoned grilled pork with 2 chips, I was getting hungrier and a little less in the mood for love! Puddings, surely they will save the day? Wrong they didn't! I don't like picking holes in places but this place is clearly managed but someone who really doesn't understand what a positive dining experience entails! I think that this is the epitome of a lazy chef who thinks winging it can somehow get you in the Michelin guide! I haven't checked but I am pretty certain that they won't make this year's edition! Overall: Reception staff are pleasant, views are pretty, building is stunning from the outside, but to coin a phrase this hotel is "all fur coat and no knickers" 2/10!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antequera G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Convento de la Magdalena, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018
Google Translation

Estimado Jon,

Sentimos mucho que nuestro establecimiento no haya cumplido con sus expectativas.
Hemos tomado nota de todos sus comentarios para hacerlos extensibles a todos los departamentos implicados.
No solemos tener queja alguna de nuestro servicio de restauración, pues siempre son buenas críticas. Intentamos ofrecer lo mejor de nuestros fogones para que todos los clientes disfruten de nuestro restaurante.
Sentimos mucho lo sucedido.

Gracias una vez más por sus comentarios. Nos ayudan a mejorar.

Nos encantaría que volviera, así poder demostrarle que nuestros servicios son excelentes.

Reciba un cordial saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Booked August 2017 and paid in full the hotel emailed to say they can not accommodate on first night if the 3 we booked 3rd to 6th march 2018. Asked for full refund despite their offers to put us in inferior hotel (sports complex) for first night. This is first a of a long anticipated 10 day holiday. We did not want to be messing with packing unpacking or being tied to check out check in times as we have planned very full on touring days. This hotel is now unwilling to refund my £229 pounds !

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wyecaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Beautiful converted convent building set on the side of a hill overlooking a valley of farms with olive trees. Nice room with lovely views on two sides, comfortable bed, shower and jacuzzi bath. Fab breakfast with everything you could ever want to eat! Restaurant was good too; and not expensive for the quality. Nice indoor pool and spa area. Very relaxing stay and less than 300 euros for bed and breakfast for 3 nights. The only limitations are that you do need a car to get into town, and there is nowhere much to go for a walk in the evening as it is dark (but this adds to the charm) I would thoroughly recommend it. It didn't have an outside pool but there are loungers and sun shades in a nice lawned area outside the pool.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

The setting is amazing. Entrance fantastic. A very tired 5 star establishment, we paid for an upgrade to have access to The wellness area... suite was huge with a nice bathroom but tired. Bed not so comfy and wooden panel rattled.
Sauna did not heat up and steam room smelt, not a relaxing wellness area.. just in front of loud pool. Not worth the extra money.
We received misinformation about the tours.. carmina del Rey does not take 30 mins.

Wonderful run from the hotel on side of the hill.

Breakfast more pricey that other places we stayed at but great selection .. annoying being told to book at check in or more expensive if u go down without booking.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank loveoftravel1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antequera G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Convento de la Magdalena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018
Google Translation

Estimado cliente;

Ante todo agradecemos haya compartido su opinión con el resto de usuarios.
Nos alegra que le haya gustado el hotel y tomamos nota sobre sus comentarios de la zona de Spa. El equipo técnico ya lo ha solucionado y todo funciona correctamente.
En cuanto a la información del Caminito del Rey sentimos lo sucedido, pero nos resulta raro que haya sido información de nuestro departamento de reservas, pues todos enviamos los datos correctos, indicando que en coche se tardan 40 minutos aproximadamente.

Una vez más le agradecemos su comentario y esperamos volver a verlos muy pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

The hotel was great for the location, room very nice, nice jaccuzi, almost with all you need (coffee maker) Breakfast and restaurant very nice, but please its a 5 star hotel , so don't go around with a trolley to clear the tables. No sight. Very good hotel when you have a dog, nice walking.Good restaurant, but at Christmas evening at 22u you had to finish your dinner, because the close that the staff can go home....to celebrate. So in the room at 22u30 nothing else to do. Refreshment of the Spa is needed.

Room Tip: Room ground floor easy to let your dog out
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianevdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews